Error Messages

Subscribe2 attempts to check that emails have been successfully sent by reporting the callback returned by the WordPress wp_mail() function.

In your server or WordPress install are not correctly configured this can result in error message despite successful sending of emails.

To overcome these issues access the PHPMailer files directly, locate a language error file and uploaded to your WordPress site (wp-content/languages/ for example).

Next, get yourself a Mailer plugin like the one suggested here and put the following line in the code.

$phpmailer->setLanguage( 'en', '../wp-content/languages/' );

This will ensure that you don’t get:

Language string failed to load: instantiate

64 thoughts on “Error Messages

  1. Hi there, where do i put this within your mailer plugin ? I upload luagage folder from php mailer to wp-content/languages/

    $phpmailer->setLanguage( ‘en’, ‘../wp-content/languages/’ );

    Please help.

    • This is what i did, is this correct ?

      add_action(‘phpmailer_init’, ‘wp_mail_to_smtp’);

      function wp_mail_to_smtp(&$phpmailer) {
      $phpmailer->setLanguage( ‘en’, ‘../wp-content/languages/’ );
      $phpmailer->Mailer = ‘smtp’;
      $phpmailer->SMTPAuth = true;
      $phpmailer->Host = ‘mail.m100dt.com’;
      $phpmailer->Port = ’26’;
      $phpmailer->Username = ‘money@m100dt.com’;
      $phpmailer->Password = ‘blah blah’;

      I then downloaded php mailer and uploaded language wo wp-content ……….

      i still get an error like this:

      Message failed! Check your settings and check with your hosting provider
      Language string failed to load: recipients_failedsim@m100dt.com

      please help

    • Make100dollarstoday,

      Just upload the single language file, not the entire folder. Then you’ll need to change the ‘en’ to match your language code.

  2. Hi there, i did it exactly but i am still getting the error. Please help, i love this plugin !

  3. I noticed:
    $phpmailer->setLanguage( ‘en’, ‘../wp-content/languages/’ );

    but when I download PHPMailer files directly, after i extract it and upload it to wp-content, the folder languages but within the phpmailer the folder is:

    language

    Could this be the issue ?

  4. This is what I am getting now:

    Message failed! Check your settings and check with your hosting provider
    Could not instantiate mail function.

    I am using the:

    WP-Mail-SMTP

    And its been tested and works great, do i really need this script to add an other smtp mailer ?

    I never had issues with this before until i upgraded to the latest subscribe 2. Is there anyway to get around this without your Mailer plugin.

    Why doesnt this follow the mailing setting of the WP-Mail-SMTP plugin found here:

    http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/wp-mail-smtp/

    There must be a way to get around this.

    Please help.

    Thanks

  5. ok, this is real funny. i checked my error log and there was an error that some recipient was an error. I deleted that user and presto it worked. Thanks bud, keep up the great work !

  6. Ok, something is wrong …..

    I did one more test to send out a message under post section and now i get this :

    Message failed! Check your settings and check with your hosting provider
    SMTP Error: Data not accepted.

    please help…

    • make100dollarstoday,

      You can add the code I supplied into the other plugin you are using if you like or request that the author of the mailer plugin considers it for a future release.

      This new error is not one from my plugin though so perhaps you should be following up with your host or your mail plugin author.

  7. I have installed subscribe2 and the site end looks good but when I post neither my admin email nor my test subscriber email recieves notification.
    email sent by mail subscribers goes through fine.

    Any advice?

    • Willi,

      Have you checked in the Settings->Subscribe2 area of the plugin to make sure you have not excluded any categories or set the plugin to send digest emails?

  8. Hi
    Thanks for quick response.
    Yes to both but still no emails

    I have pasted a copy using XX to indicate options selected.
    Notification Settings
    Restrict the number of recipients per email to (0 for unlimited): 0 Edit Update Revert

    Send Admins notifications for new: Subscriptions Unsubscriptions XBothX Neither

    Include theme CSS stylesheet in HTML notifications: XYes X No

    Send Emails for Pages: XYesX No

    Send Emails for Password Protected Posts: XYesX No

    Send Emails for Private Posts: XYesX No

    Send Email From: Post Author admin

    Send Emails:

    For each Post XXXX
    Once Hourly
    Twice Daily
    Once Daily
    Weekly

    Send Digest Notification at: 12am

    Email Templates

    New Post email (must not be empty):
    Subject Line:
    BLOGNAME has posted a new item, ‘TITLE’

    POST

    You may view the latest post at
    PERMALINK

    You received this e-mail because you asked to be notified when new updates are posted.
    Best regards,
    MYNAME
    EMAIL

    Message substitions
    BLOGNAME
    Opportunities For Youth
    BLOGLINK
    http://arachnidcreates.com/Sumit
    TITLE
    the post’s title
    (for per-post emails only)
    POST
    the excerpt or the entire post
    (based on the subscriber’s preferences)
    POSTTIME
    the excerpt of the post and the time it was posted
    (for digest emails only)
    TABLE
    a list of post titles
    (for digest emails only)
    PERMALINK
    the post’s permalink
    (for per-post emails only)
    TINYLINK
    the post’s permalink after conversion by TinyURL
    (for per-post emails only)
    MYNAME
    the admin or post author’s name
    EMAIL
    the admin or post author’s email
    AUTHORNAME
    the post author’s name
    LINK
    the generated link to confirm a request
    (only used in the confirmation email template)
    ACTION
    Action performed by LINK in confirmation email
    (only used in the confirmation email template)
    Subscribe / Unsubscribe confirmation email:
    Subject Line:
    BLOGNAME has received a request to ACTION for this email address. To complete your request please click on the link below:

    LINK

    If you did not request this, please feel free to disregard this notice!

    Thank you,
    MYNAME.

    Reminder email to Unconfirmed Subscribers:
    Subject Line:
    This email address was subscribed for notifications at BLOGNAME (BLOGLINK) but the subscription remains incomplete.

    If you wish to complete your subscription please click on the link below:

    LINK

    If you do not wish to complete your subscription please ignore this email and your address will be removed from our database.

    Regards,
    MYNAME

    Excluded Categories XNoneX
    Posts assigned to any Excluded Category do not generate notifications and are not included in digest notifications

    Bachelors
    Fellowship
    Grants
    Home
    Jobs & Internships
    Masters
    Ph D
    Scholarships
    Trainings & Conferences
    Uncategorized

    Select / Unselect All

    Allow registered users to subscribe to excluded categories?

    XNoX
    Appearance
    Set default Subscribe2 page as ID: 0 Edit Update Revert

    Set the number of Subscribers displayed per page: 25 Edit Update Revert

    Show a link to your subscription page in “meta”? Yes

    Show the Subscribe2 button on the Write toolbar? Yes

    Enable Subscribe2 Widget? Yes

    Auto Subscribe
    Subscribe new users registering with your blog: Yes
    Automatically Display option on Registration Form No

    Auto-subscribe includes any excluded categories:
    Yes XNoX

    Registration Form option is checked by default:
    XYesX No

    Auto-subscribe users to receive email as:
    HTML XPlain Text – Full X Plain Text – Excerpt

    Display option for Register Users to auto-subscribe to new categories:
    XYesX No

    Option for Register Users to auto-subscribe to new categories is checked by default:
    XYesX No

    Barred Domains
    Enter domains to bar from public subscriptions:
    (Use a new line for each entry and omit the “@” symbol, for example email.com)
    None

  9. I thinnk I have identified problem with my email router so messages were not getting through. Thanks for your help.
    Resolved

  10. I’ve been using Subscribe2 successfully every week since September and love it. Unfortunately, without making any change other than updating plugins, Subscribe2 has suddenly stopped working – not even sending an email to the administrator. Settings are unchanged from previous weeks.

    To diagnose,
    – I’ve disabled all plugins except Subscribe2 and get the same result.
    – I tested posting a new simple post, just to ensure there was no complication arising from my original longer post. Still the same result.
    – I installed mail debug, but since I’m getting no emails, it wasn’t helpful

    One odd thing that happened that may be a useful clue: To test a post, I normally first publish it to an excluded category where I’m the only subscriber (at a different email address). If I’m happy with the result, I then unpublish, and republish it under the appropriate public category.

    This week, I only received the email that goes to the admin and not the one that goes to subscribers. And now, when I unpublish and republish, or even create a new post and publish it, I receive nothing. Could something be “clogging” the system?

    Any suggestions?

  11. Problem partially resolved – as I ran out of logical things to try, I tried out some semi-logical things and one of them worked:
    – I checked the Override box on the post telling Subscribe2 to NOT to publish this item
    – published, then unpublished the post
    – unchecked the Override box and republished it

    Voila – for some odd reason, it worked!

    Unfortunately, the email ended up being sent by the Author instead of Admin (I always send from Admin). Checking Subscribe2 settings, my only choice now in the Dropdown Box beside “Send Email From:” is the post’s author.

    Just guessing here, but I suspect this is connected to the original problem? Any guidance on how to fix?

    • Harvey Beck,

      Thanks for your persistence in running this down. I think I have an idea about a cause that I may be able to fix but just to check – you do have at least on level 10 (Administrator) level user on the affected site, right?

  12. Hehe – Yes, that was also one of the 1st things I checked, just to be sure I hadn’t inadvertently kicked myself down a notch.

    Also, one more symptom – had to go through the same process for a new post today: First publish with the Override box checked, then unpublish/republish with i unchecked.

    • Harvey,

      I suspect a glitch in my code that may fall foul of tighter PHP error notice reporting. I’ve got a new version for you to check out and see if admin is restored to the Settings page drop down. I believe that this will remedy your failed notification sending. Okay for me to mail the code to you direct?

  13. Hi,

    I am using this plugin but have an issue where at the top of my email postings the following is being sent:

    —————–
    Message-ID:
    X-Priority: 3
    X-Mailer: PHPMailer (phpmailer.sourceforge.net) [version 2.0.2]
    Return-path:
    Reply-To: “Me”
    X-Mailer: PHP5.2.5
    Precedence: list
    List-Id: My Blog
    MIME-Version: 1.0
    MIME-Version: 1.0
    Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit
    Content-Type: text/plain; charset=”UTF-8″
    ———————-

    Does this mean I have a setting wrong in the configuration?

  14. when I go to mail subscribers on the Post section. I type in an email and then hit send and I have two email address I added in as the recipients. But I haven’t receive those test emails yet..anything i should check on my end. because it said it went through in wordpress when I email my subscribers.

    • Kevin,

      If the plugin is indicating that the email is sent okay then it is most likely being blocked further down the line by a server side rule. As your hosting provider to check any limitations or restrictions on emails. Also get them to check the error and mail logs.

  15. when I go to mail subscribers on the Post section.

    I write in an email to my subscribers and then hit send and it goes through with no problem and I have two email address I added in as the recipients.

    But I haven’t receive those test emails yet..is anything i should check on my end. because it said it went through in wordpress when I email my subscribers.

  16. am trying to use this without luck… i used ur smtp mailer php code, activated plugin and still get “Language string failed to load: instantiate” error. this when i try to send a test email to public subscribers

    • Viveeonline,

      If you are still getting the same error message then you must have done something wrong. Erase what you’ve done from the server and start again following the steps, make sure to upload the amended plugin file (you have to amend it) and ensure you download the language file and upload that to the server too.

      • Hello,

        Thanks for the reply. This is what I did. May be you can check if I have missed some obvious point anywhere.

        1. installed and activated the plugin subscribe2
        2. downloaded the PHMMailer ZIP and extracted on the local computer
        3. it had a folder by name “language”. Took one file and uploaded to /wp-content/languages/
        4. Created a new file under plugins “smtpmailer.php” with the code you provided a link above to
        5. added the line: $phpmailer->setLanguage( ‘en’, ‘../wp-content/languages/’ );
        6. replaced code my server name, my email address/username, my password and activated the plugin “smtpmailer”
        7. (I did not replace the dots (..) in front of wp-content/languages/ with anything, is that a problem?)
        8. I tried to send an email to public subscribers and received the error

        Am I missing anything obvious?
        Also, I mite upgrade to 2.8 anytime now. If I get this plugin working and THEN I upgrade wp to 2.8, should that continue to work seamlessly?

        Thanks a million for all the help you provide!
        Vivek.
        http://viveeonline.com

        • Vivek,

          Many thanks for reproducing your steps so completely, it really does help. I think the issue is likely to be that a your chosen language file is probably not English and therefore has another language code than ‘en’. As such you need to amend the line you add at step five and replace the ‘en’ with your own language code (it should be in the language file name).

          • Thanks again for faaast response! I really appreciate it.🙂

            Two things that might give you some clue again:

            1. There was no file in language folder with en in its name. So I uploaded the one with es (Some language, all I wanted to check is if the email is going through without any error message). Then I checked with en and es in the phpmailer code line you provided. neither one worked😦

            2. when I copied the smtpmailer code from your site and created a new php file, all the lines started with # – all of them like syntax or something. Is that correct? I have zero knowledge about php so may be you will find this silly, but I thought you should know.

            If we can make this work without the smtpmailer I would appreciate. Because after trying for sometime and posting my request here for help, I had to remove smtpmailer.php file as my dashboard said something was not right and it could create fatal error or something!

            Thanks again for looking into this!
            Vivek.
            http://viveeonline.com

          • Vivek,

            I think you problem is in the plugin code then – each line should not start with a # symbol. Try getting the plugin code again and use the ‘Copy to Clipboard’ or ‘View Plaintext’ links at the top of the code.

          • view plain text gave me clean code. i create the file, updated server settings, added the phpmailer line and activated the plugin.

            when i go to posts- mail subscribers and send the email, there is no error message now. however it just shows blank page (except for those admin menus on the left) is this normal? and i did not receive the email though😦

          • Vivek,

            I presume you’ve amended all the setting in the Mailer plugin to meet those of you own mail account on your server. If you have you need to contact your hosting provider and ask them why your emails are being blocked.

            When you send a mail though it should report back success so I suspect you still have something not quite right.

          • Here is the code:

            Subscribers in the Subscribe2 plugin
            */

            add_action(‘phpmailer_init’, ‘wp_mail_to_smtp’);

            function wp_mail_to_smtp(&$phpmailer) {
            $phpmailer->setLanguage( ‘es’, ‘../wp-content/languages/’ );
            $phpmailer->Mailer = ‘smtp’;
            $phpmailer->SMTPAuth = true;
            $phpmailer->Host = ‘mail.edited to protect privacy.com’;
            $phpmailer->Port = ’25’;
            $phpmailer->Username = ‘edited to protect privacy’;
            $phpmailer->Password = ‘edited to protect privacy’;
            }
            ?>

          • Vivek,

            Please don’t post your user name and password on an open forum!!

            Anyway, your code looks good but try it using on the $phpmailer->setLanguage line (and remove all the other lines) within the function.

          • Vivek,

            Like this:

            add_action('phpmailer_init', 'wp_mail_to_smtp');

            function wp_mail_to_smtp(&$phpmailer) {
            $phpmailer->setLanguage('es', '../wp-content/languages/');
            }

          • Subscribers in the Subscribe2 plugin
            */

            add_action(‘phpmailer_init’, ‘wp_mail_to_smtp’);

            function wp_mail_to_smtp(&$phpmailer) {
            $phpmailer->setLanguage(‘es’, ‘../wp-content/languages/’);
            }
            ?>

            i get this error:
            Message failed! Check your settings and check with your hosting provider
            No pude crear una instancia de la función Mail.

          • Videk,

            Okay, that means that the WordPress end and plugin are working perfectly but your host is blocking emails sent via PHP. You need to take that up with your hosting provider.

          • those guys say its code. am in a confused state now. i wish i had some programming code.

            anyways, thanks a million for your time and support. i really appreciate it.

            and i tried “G-Lock Double Opt-in Manager” for subscriptions and auto email send etc and it works perfectly fine “out of the box”. i guess its my code implementation then.😦

            as long as my objective is achieved am happy. thanks again for ur time and efforts!🙂

          • and by the way, what is this plugin that gives you inline comments and replies? I love the environment here and hope you don’t mind sharing it with me. Here is my site if you have any suggestions: http://viveeonline.com

  17. Hi Matt, I have been using subscribe2 for a couple of years with no fixable problems. Now I tried to use it on a wordpress 2.8 installation and the plugin isn’t working.

    I’ve tried everything on troubleshooting page with no result, even installed your “Mail Test” plugin and works perfectly.
    Is there a chance that the problem is an incopatibility issue?

    Cheers

  18. Hi,

    just updated WP 2.8 from 2.7.1 in french version.
    my website was broken so i tested all the plugin that could lead to my error (maximum execution in popo/stream.php)
    and when removing subsrice2, the error message disappeared
    i will try to reinstall subscribe2 but wanted to inform .

    byec

  19. just put the last subscribe version and i keep to have the error message with it, and no error when removing it..
    so sad, can’t work with this nice plugin enabled

    ben

      • “Fatal error: Maximum execution time of 20 seconds exceeded in /home/p/perso/html/wordpress/wp-includes/pomo/mo.php on line 78”
        it happens everytime i activate the plugin

        • Ben, Nath & Co.,

          The usual default script execution time in PHP is 30 seconds. You probably need to ask your host to change the settings to allow scripts to run for a little longer before being failed on the server.

  20. Hi!

    Thanks for the awesome plugin, it’s an immense feature of my blog. When my blog begins to turn over some, hopefully I can!

    I was just wondering if there is a way to enter the Subscribe2 widget into my theme, through raw code?

    Is that extremely obvious and I’ve missed something? hehe

    Thanks!
    Adam

  21. Hi Matt, I have checked with my host provider and looks everything is ok.

    The problem is that subscribe2 just sends emails to email from the same domain. For example: If I got installed subscribe2 on my-domain.com I just receipt emails on emails as whatever@my-domain.com

    What am I doing wrong?
    Regards.

    • Alejandro,

      This will be a host side problem in blocking of off-host email addresses. Your server is sending to all addresses on the same domain but blocking or rejecting all external email addresses. This should be fixed by your hosting provider.

  22. Hi there

    I have used the subscribe 2 functionality on my blog for about a year now. It has been working great (thank you) but over the last 2 months I have been having some issues with the confirmation process.

    When someone subscribes they receive a confirmation email like this:

    ++++

    The Tasting Sessions has received a request to subscribe for this email address. To complete your request please click on the link below:

    http://thetastingsessions.com/?s2=1bd7a41c1adbbf6ce405321d3fe07463c224

    If you did not request this or you’ve changed your mind, please ignore this.

    Angella and Hayley
    The Tasting Sessions

    ++++

    When the user clicks on the link they receive 404 page. In some cases the subscription still works and the name has been added to the database, in others it doesn’t. I don’t know why it would work in some cases and not in others.

    The text in the admin for subscribe 2 confirmation page looks like this:

    ++++

    BLOGNAME has received a request to ACTION for this email address. To complete your request please click on the link below:

    LINK

    If you did not request this or you’ve changed your mind, please ignore this.

    Angella and Hayley
    BLOGNAME

    ++++

    I have upgraded to the latest version of the plugin, but the problem seems to persist.

    Can you please help?

    Many thanks
    Angella

    • Angella,

      People who fill in your form should be added as Unconfirmed Public Subscribers. If they click on the link this should confirm the subscription process.

      The link is likely not working because of some redirect code on your site. This may be because of other plugins or a custom .htaccess for your site.

  23. Under Users | Subscriptions, I think I’m supposed to see Categories, but I don’t see any.

    Under Settings | Subscrib2, I have checked for exclusions. There is only one, uncategorized. The rest of the Categories are unchecked.

    Any ideas?

    • Ed M,

      I guess you are using Digest Notifications and therefore the Users->Subscriptions screen will only have an option to opt in or our of receiving emails.

Comments are closed.