Subscribe2 4.9

Version 4.9 of the Plugin is now available for download.

Version 4.9 is for 2.6.x users only! (Although it should work with WordPress 2.5 too!) This version has been tested on WordPress 2.6 and 2.6.1.

Users of WordPress 2.0.x should download Version 2.22 of Subscribe2. Users of WordPress 2.1.x and 2.2.x should download Version 3.8.


This version contains the following improvements:

  • Send email direct to recipient if BCC is set as 1
  • Fix issue where WordPress shortcodes were not stripped out of emails
  • Amended Manage page to resolve issues with IE and Opera not passing form information correctly
  • Amended Manage page to allow for bulk management of public users
  • Amended WordPress API usage for translation files to 2.6 compatible syntax
  • Allow Editor and Author users to send emails from Write->Mail Subscribers
  • Post collection for CRON function is more dynamic
  • CRON function sanity to checks for post content before sending a notification
  • Fixed get_register() function to allow for user_activation field
  • Corrected typos in options.php
  • Added a search box to the Manage->Subscribers window
  • Strip tags and HTML entities from email subjects
  • Improved message feedback in Write->Mail
  • Added html_entity_decode to sender name fields
  • Change Menu string for User menu to make it clearer whose preferences are being edited

There are currently no known issues affecting this version😀

If you use this plugin consider making a donation to support future development!

To install correctly use the WordPress Auto Upgrade feature or:

  1. Deactivate your exisiting Subscribe2 Plugin
  2. Use FTP software to delete the old plugin and upload the new version
  3. Ensure that the complete subscribe2 folder is uploaded
  4. Activate the new version of the plugin

97 thoughts on “Subscribe2 4.9

  1. It sure is hard to tell which version of Subscribe2 to use if I’m sticking with WordPress 2.3. That version is sort of left out of your list, but my blog is working fine and I don’t have time to work the kinks out of an upgrade.

  2. Joy,

    WordPress 2.3 is no longer support by the WordPress core developers and has therefore also been dropped by many plugin authors. If you are problem free with your current version leave well alone although any time you run into issues expect a stock response to upgrade before any further help is forthcoming.

  3. Hey there,

    Thanks for the great work with Subscribe2!

    I am using WP 2.6.1 and have the latest 4.9 version of your program. Just as an FYI, with the last version as well as 4.9 (and probably before the last one but I’ve lost track), I get all e-mails sent just fine but when I have a new subscriber, I get TWO notifications to me, the administrator, alerting me to the new subscriber. Both come when the new subscriber confirms his subscription request by clicking the link that comes to him/her in the confirmation e-mail. Once that person confirms, two e-mails are sent to the administrator, both of which are exactly the same. Any chance this can be corrected? It’s more of a nuisance thing than anything else, so no big deal.

    Again, thanks for your work. It’s a GREAT plugin!

    Regards,

    Dave

    http://www.earthtodave.com

  4. Hi,
    Thanks for the update – a very useful plugin.

    I saw the line about no known issues. In wp 2.6.1 the confirmation message is still causing funny post id’s instead of titles in the menu.

    Since I had to refix the code after the update, I also made a few other changes I’d been thinking about for the widget to reduce the real estate taken up – you may want to incorporate these in the next update. I documented them at: http://webdesign.anmari.com/subscribe2-widget-markup/

  5. Davinater,

    This is probably because you are using the widget as well as the page form. If I ever figure out a way to block the second email I’ll add it to the code.

  6. I had a strange problem, but figured it out – thought you’d want to know.

    I uploaded 4.9 to my plugins directory and verified that it is all there. When I then attempted to activate the plugin, I got an Error 500 – Internal Server Error. The same thing happens if I attempt to reload the plugins page – other pages in the admin section seem to be fine (I haven’t checked them all), but I can’t return to the plugins page to see what’s going on.

    By moving the Subscribe2 directory out of the plugins directory, it was automatically disabled, I then began searching for conflicts and discovered that the Admin Management Xtended plugin conflicts with Subscribe2.

    Best,
    Wayne

  7. Sorry – it seems there were two conflicting – One Click Plugin Updater also conflicts. If I attempt to re-activate either of these now that Subscribe2 is active, I get the Error 500 –

    Hope it’s helpful.

  8. Thanks for the response. I am not using the widget and do not have it enabled, so not sure why two e-mails are being sent for each new subscriber….any other ideas?

    Thanks again!

    Dave

  9. Toffound,

    This may be something to do with these two plugins calling jQuery when it’s already called. There appear to be other cases of Error 500 just related to these plugins with Subscribe2 being present so it may be a wider script conflict.

  10. Good news – it seems that the conflict only exists in PHP4, which is the default for my host – 1and1. Because of another issue I was having, I added the following line to my .htaccess (per 1and1’s instructions)

    AddType x-mapp-php5 .php

    in the main wordpress directory, and many minor issues seem to have cleared themselves up.

    I have since re-activated the Admin-Management-Xtended plugin with no problems. I have not done the same with One Click Plugin Updater, as I have replaced in the meantime with WP Easy Uploader.

    Well, a lot of data, but hopefully it’s helpful. – Best.

  11. hey admin (I even don’t know what’s your name, or where I should find your name, :D), i love your plugin. I’ve been using your plugin since 3 months ago (ver4.6).

    I use your plugin in my university student’s community website (language: Indonesian), so I translate (by hardcoded the subscribe2.php file) the confirmation sentence in the login form: “Check here to Subscribe to email notifications for new posts” into my custom sentence in Indonesian.

    The problem is, when I update the plugin, that sentence is change back to the default sentence “Check here to Subscribe bla-bla”, and I must hardcoded my custom sentence again and again..

    I have a request that I hope you could afford: a confirmation sentence that we could customize with our custom sentence. I think this will give great flexibility to all wordpress blog around the world..

    Thank you very much for your great work, i very appreciate it!

  12. iLm@n

    All of the strings in Subscribe2 can be translated using gettext. Grab the POT file in the download zip and translate each of the strings into Indonesian. (Use POEdit) Then create your mo file and upload it and your problem is fixed. It’s also worth sending the files to me so other users can benefit from your translations!

  13. Hi there,

    Thanks for the great plugin.

    When sorting through my subscribers list I noticed a few issues. When ticking the box ‘unconfirm this email address’ for one subscriber and ticking ‘delete this email address’ for another, it only processes the delete action. When selecting multiple subscribers of the same action then it works fine. It’s just when you mix actions then it doesn’t work properly.

    The other issue isn’t really a bug its more off an annoyance. When for example you are on page 10 and sorting out your subscribers, when you click on the Process button it takes you back to the 1st page every time. It would be nice if it left you on the same page you were on before you clicked the process button.

    Thanks

  14. What exactly does “Send email direct to recipient if BCC is set as 1” mean? That the email isn’t sent as bcc anymore (probably)?
    Where can you set bcc to 1? Don’t see any option in the settings. Thanks!

  15. Hi – thanks for a great plugin.

    I want to modify it slightly so that instead of sending an email out after a period of time, it sends one based on a number of posts. Say, after I’ve made 10 posts, an email is sent out.

    I figure I can just define this number somewhere in the database and reset/increment it at the appropriate time. I just need some tips on modifying Subscribe2 so that it checks this variable and if it’s set to 10, sends out an email with the 10 most recent posts. Any tips on how/where to do this?

    Thanks.

  16. I just reinstalled Subscribe2– I can’t remember why I stopped using it or when, but this might have something to do with it.

    The option to subscribe to individual categories is not available for registered users. When logging in as a registered subscriber (or as a Premium Subscriber, whatever the heck that is), the only option for Profile->Subscriptions is to get the daily digest yes/no. No options for unsubscribing, choosing categories, etc.

    Versions:
    Subscribe2.4.9
    Wordpress 2.6.1 on Dreamhost

    This is very important to me– my blog bounces all over the place, and I really want to have a way for users to subscribe just to what they’re into.

  17. OK, the problem resolved itself when I changed the “Send Email as Digest” to Per Post Email. I kind of wish that feature were better documented. Anyway, I’m now receiving 2 emails for each post– one as a subscriber (extracted), and one as a registered user– I have one testing email address that isn’t a registered user– it only received 1 email per post. My guess is that there is a list somewhere of all non-registered user subscribers, and my list of registered users is duplicated there.

    Any ideas? Suggestions? Confetti?

  18. Creasy,

    It’s the first option in Options->Subscribe2 and has historically been referred to as the BCCLIMIT. If you set this as 1 then emails are sent direct to each recipient rather than in the BCC header of an email sent to you.

  19. Matt Andrews,

    You’d need to look at the subscribe2_cron function. It starts by collection the posts for the email, you would need to add some code that counts the number of posts that are collected and only continues into sending the email if there are 10 or more.

  20. Stephanie,

    I’m glad you found your answer, if you think the ReadMe can be improved then please post you amended text and I’ll use it!

    As for your duplicate emails, remember you’ll get one for each of the sent email types (plaintext full and excerpt and HTML) There will also be further duplication if you have set the first option in Options->Subscribe2.

  21. Thanks again for the fast answer! Awesome support.
    Is there any way, to be able to send the emails as HTML AND plain text?
    Meaning, if the users client supports html it can show the html version, but if the client would only show ” .”s, it would use the plain text version? Thanks again!

  22. Creasy,

    This would need to be available on the email client and as far as I know there is no way to support HTML and plaintext at the same time.

  23. I recently upgraded to wordpress 2.6 and then upgraded the subscribe2 plug-in to 4.9, now when anyone tries to subscribe to my blog I get the following message: Sorry, there seems to be an error on the server. Please try again later.

    The users email is listed as an unconfirmed subscriber, but they don’t receive a confirmation e-mail.

    Also, my outgoing message is not being sent with new posts, which was working fine with wordpress 2.5 and subscribe2 4.8.

  24. this plugin worked with 2.5 and 4.8
    but after upgrading it doesnt send a message when i post.. i can manually click the “mail subscribers” link and it works. so email does send when it’s done that way.

    I also disabled all my plugin’s except subscribe2 and tried again..still no luck.. also the subscribe2debug does nothing. the link in the tool bar doesnt point to anything.

    not sure. i tried to go back to v4.8 and it still doesnt work..

  25. Hi there,

    I tried making a basic modification to the script to count the number of posts, wrapping it in an if statement. I’m still getting an email for every new post so I’m pretty sure my logic sucks. This is how I’ve tried it (around line 2294):

    if(count($posts) > 10) {

    // if we have posts, let’s prepare the digest
    $all_post_cats = array();
    foreach ($posts as $post) {

    // etc
    }

    This doesn’t work, and neither does setting a $postcount variable and incrementing it each time the foreach statement executes, testing for 10 when it starts.

    Any tips? Thank you.

  26. Bob,

    I presume you upgraded Subscribe2 and WordPress. Reverting to a prior version of Subscribe2 hasn’t fixed your problem either so that points to something else being the cause.

    Have you asked your host to check the error logs for you?

  27. I am the host.. I checked the logs.. no entries for anything related (or not related)

    the “mail subscribers” works. so email is working..
    but when i post, nothing happens. again,
    here was the timeline.

    running wp 2.5 and subscribe 4.8 (worked)
    upgraded to wp 2.6 running 4.8
    everything still worked.
    upgraded to subscribe 4.9 – stopped working.
    downgraded to 4.8 still doesnt work
    upgraded to wp 2.61 running 4.8 – doesnt work
    back to 4.9 – still nodda

  28. Is there a way to add a captcha to the form in which people enter their email address? We’ve been getting a lot of spam subscriptions from many places that we would like to exclude.

    Great plugin.

  29. Hi Administrator,

    i’m working with a xhtml strict theme, and each time this great plugin “subscribe2” is updated, my validity is broken..
    One modification is sufficient to gain validity on home page.
    could you please add it in the future release?
    Thanks.
    Code to change :

    add  and  in the form
    Line 77
    
    $this->form = "" . __('Your email:', 'subscribe2') . "   " . __('Subscribe', 'subscribe2') . "  " . __('Unsubscribe', 'subscribe2') . "  \r\n";
    
  30. grr, [code] does not work !
    the point is to add a "p" and a "/p" balise inside the form, line 77
    so you get :

    action=\"\">" . __('Your email:'

    'subscribe2') . "\" />\r\n"

    thanks

  31. Jim,

    There isn’t the ability to use captcha on the subscribe2 forms but you can block email registrations from certain domains that you specify in Options->Subscribe2.

  32. Matt Andrews,

    You may be better bailing out if your criteria isn’t met rather than doing something if it is met. Try something like:

    if (count($posts) < 10) { return; }

  33. Admin:

    I have the exact same problem as Bob (posted on Sept 1). If I send a test email (via Configure SMTP), I receive an email, so I know email is working fine.

    When I post a page or post, I get nothing. I added a *confirmed Public subscriber* to the subscribe2 page and then attempted to publish a new post, that public subscriber (my other email address) did not get an email.

    I’m using WP 2.5.1, and was using Subscribe2 4.8 (tried 4.7 and 4.9 and both did not work either).

    ANy ideas?

  34. I agree with everyone else that this is a wonderful plug-in, but I’ve found one bug – or at least something that doesn’t work in the way I would expect – which I find very annoying.

    If I give people the option of subscribing on the registration form, even if they select yes, it simpy doesn’t work – they are not subscribed to any categories. “Auto Subscribe me to new categories is checked by default” doesn’t work either. These functions only work if I set all registrations to be subscribed automatically. But I’d really like to let them choose.

    Also, I think it would be a good idea to add something like “You can unsbsubscribe at any time” to the end of the message telling people they agree to receive email notifications when they subscribe (if auto subscribe is selected).

  35. Epiphany of the Fox,

    The Write->Mail Subscribers page uses exactly the same code function in Subscribe2 as the once called when you make a post so something must be breaking on your install. Have you asked your host why emails are blocked when you make a post? Do you have other plugins running?

  36. Looks like the daily digest emails aren’t getting sent even though wp-cron was supposedly not needed since version 3.1 or somewhere around there. The email per post option sends fine however.

  37. Actually, I was referring to the messsage that comes up on the registration page if I have it set to automatically subscribe everyone – as it is, it looks a little scary, so I think it would be a good idea to let people know they can unsubscribe whenever they want to!

    BTW, I already do have an unsubscribe message in my email templates as well, which is something I strongly recommend everybody do to avoid spam filters.

  38. Ivan,

    The wp-cron plugin is not required but the in-built cron functions are still needed including the wp-cron.php file.

    To set the cron functions into action you must have a visitor to your site – I have it working fine but sporadically on a low traffic site of mine.

  39. Lee,

    Look for the following line in the code:


    echo __('By Registering with this blog you are also agreeing to receive email notifications for new posts', 'subscribe2') . "\r\n";

    And amend the text to whatever you like. I’ll add something about un-subscribing for the next release.

  40. I know that people have been visiting the site and I do have the wp-cron.php file so I’m not really sure what the problem could be then. Like I said, emailing on each individual post is working fine, it’s just the digests that are having problems.

  41. is there any instruction anywhere on how to import existing mailing list subscribers into the database? i’m sure there’s got to be an easy way to do this, but i can’t tell.

    please let me know as soon as possible. thanks!

  42. Hi,

    I’m back again. Thanks for your comments. I tried them and here’s what I have…

    As I indicated earlier, I am running WP 2.5.1 (due to authentication issues with the new WP2.6.x for the private blog I support). Currently, it only has four active plug-ins. counterize, wp-cache, AccessQontrol and Subscribe2. (I disabled Configure SMTP before all this and it was deactivated throughout this “experiment”.)

    Here is what I did:

    1) With four plugins activated, I used “Mail Subscribers” in the Write page, and it went to my mailbox just fine (under public subscribers, not registered subscribers)
    2) With just the AccessQontrol and Subscribe2 plug-ins activated, I used Mail Subscribers and it worked. I then published a test page and that worked (see #3)
    3) Same plug-ins as in #2, published another test page but had over 150 confirmed subscribers from the USERS list activated on Subscribe2, not one subscriber received an email from the publishing of that page. How come?

    I put a catch all email address that was at the end of the list. That email address didn’t get the post, just like the other 150 subscribers.

    I’ve already put down 10 to restrict the number of recipients. No such luck. Do you want the debug info?

    It worked when we were at WP 2.5 at a different web hosting company. (we are now on 1and1.com).

    Thanks!

  43. Ivan,

    I’m not sure what to suggest then – it works for me on my site. You” have to do some debugging of possible plugin conflicts. Also check the Options->Subscribe2 screen to see when the email is schedule for.

  44. Epiphany of the Fox,

    From your last comment it seems that you are running into email limits on 1and1. I was with them for a short while be left as they couldn’t accommodate my emailing needs. Restricting the BCC header won’t help as 1and1 count individual emails to BCC recipients and block emails once your limit is reached. (About 50 per hour if I remember correctly)

  45. Hi there again Matthew (good name),

    I’ve tried changing my if statement like you suggested, still sends me an email as soon as I make a post.

    My code is like so:

    (l.2289)
    // do we have any posts?
    if (empty($posts)) { return; }

    // if we have posts, let’s prepare the digest
    $all_post_cats = array();
    foreach ($posts as $post) {

    if (count($posts) < 10) { return; }

    etc

    Could it be that I have my logic in the wrong place in the function? Sorry for the repeated questions, I really appreciate you taking the time to clarify this.

  46. I am having an issue that I think is kind of wierd. When someone subscribes, via the subscribe form, they get a confirmation e-mail. When you click on the confirmation link, it opens a page on my website that says they are confirmed.

    However, this page that opens up is the page that I installed classified ads on and the page title is “Subscription Confirmation” and it says at the bottom of the page “You have successfully subscribed!”, which is OK, but I can’t figure out why it pulls up a page that has content from another plugin on it?? Can’t it pull up it’s own confirmation page?

    Click on my name to test it for yourself (just un-subscribe when done) It also does the same thing when you unsubscribe. I don’t know if this is an issue with this plugin, or the classified ads plugin, but all the classified ad plugin does is that you create a page and drop in the code to ad the content.

  47. Bruce,

    Subscribe2 has to hijack a page from your WordPress database to display the messgaes back to users. If you have a page for subscriptions make sure you define the ID of this page in Settings->Subscribe2 and this issue should resolve.

  48. Matt Andrews,

    Nearly there mate but the if statement needs to come before the foreach. In fact you could get really elegant and change:

    if (empty($posts)) { return; }

    to:

    if ( (empty($posts)) || (count($posts) < 10) ) { return; }

    This will bail out of the cron function if there are no posts or less than 10 posts.

  49. Hi,

    I’m running WP2.6.1 and Subscribe2, v4.9.

    My main problem is that even though I have the “once per day Digest Notification set for 12am”, they are being sent out at 5pm every day. Any posts published before 5pm are sent out at 5pm that day. Any posts published after 5pm are sent out at 5pm the next day.

    After I received today’s notification, I went in to the settings and this is what I found:

    Current UTC time is: September 6, 2008 @ 12:24 am
    Current blog time is: September 5, 2008 @ 5:24 pm
    Next email notification will be sent when your blog time is after: September 7, 2008 @ 12:00 am

    It appears the notifications are being sent out on UTC time instead of Current blog time.

    My secondary problem is that even though I have the “Send Email From: set to Author of the post” they are always sent from the admin.

    I have some other minor issues but want to deal with just these 2 now.

    Thanks for a great plugin, hope you can help with these issues,

    Michael

  50. I have your plugin Subscribe2 2.4.9 on my WP 2.6.1 blog. I am the only registered user and I have several confirmed subscribers. How do I get my confirmed subscribers to get notification emails? It appears I can only subscribe myself to the categories because it only lets you change it for registered users?

  51. Michael,

    That’s strange, I have the same version of WordPress and Subscribe2 on a blog of mine with a weekly digest and I don’t have this problem. Are you using the timezone feature in WordPress?

    The second issue is expected – there could have been several posts made in a day by different authors so the digest emails must be sent from admin.

  52. Joanne,

    So, your public subscribers aren’t getting email notifications? Have you checked in spam boxes and made sure your host allows you to send emails via BCC headers?

  53. Hi,

    Yes, have checked the spam folders in my email. The problem appears to be assigning them to the categories for what emails they want to get. I can see how to add categories for registered users but not confirmed subscribers…

  54. Joanne / Thefaerytale,

    Confirmed subscribers get an excerpt delivered for all new posts provided that the post is not in a disallowed category in Settings->Subscribe2. Individual Confirmed Subscribers cannot choose which categories they get emails for nor what email type they get – for this they would need to register.

  55. OK, thanks. I have no excluded categories so this means they should get all emails, right? Then I don’t understand why I am the only one to get them???

  56. Joanne,

    You need to check with your hosting provider about email restrictions. Subscribe2 adds recipients to the BCC header and some hosts block this as it is also a tactic used by spammers.

    Your host may also have time based limits on the number of emails you can send and you may be falling foul of that.

    A good host provider will be able to access their logs and tell you why the emails are not being sent.

  57. Me again😛

    I dunno what I’ve done but now it seems to be working. I reset the options to default settings and now I’m getting the emails through. I don’t recall changing anything to start with but at least now it’s going.

    Thank you for all your help though, your time is appreciated🙂

  58. Hello, great plugin for sure.

    I wanted to ask two things:

    1. I have had on 2-3 separate occasions, the settings for Subscribe 2, competely wipe out and go back to default. I can tell this because all of a sudden I start getting per-post notifications, and then when I go to the Admin options, I need to reset everything. Does anyone else notice this? It doesn’t seem to be tied to a blog upgrade but maybe to certain plugin upgrades, I wish I could pinpoint which ones. Sorry about the lack of detail, but perhaps others’ experiences will bear this out.

    2. I am having the same problem as Michael above, since 4.9 digest e-mails are not going out from the author, just the admin, even when only the author (who is not the admin) posted on that day.

    Thanks again.

  59. To Admin-

    Thanks for your help with the subscribe/unsubscribe messages appearing on another page in my site. I DID NOT have a seperate subscribe page and was only using the side widget form for subscriptions. To take advantage of your suggestion, I created a blank page and called it “confirmations”, then published it, then told my widget to not show that page (so it wouldn’t be listed in the menu items). Then I went to my settings and told it use my confirmation page # and it now works.

    Thanks again for this program!

  60. Frank,

    1/ One other user has reported this to me – I’ve never been able to figure out the problem nor even reproduce it. I’ve had the plugin on my site for over 2 years without a loss of the settings. I can only think it’s a plugin issue or a configuration issue on certain hosts servers. If you ever figure out more information to allow a reproduction of the error please let me know.

    2/ The digest emails are sent from the current user provided they are Administrator level, if they aren’t then the first admin record in the database is used. It is programmatically too difficult to send from authors for digest emails.

  61. Hi

    As usual every alternate plugin revision places my notifications in the spam folders. I don’t think there is anything wrong with my hosting provider. Do you know what is going wrong?

  62. Vzx,

    Email going to a spam folder has very little to do with the plugin, It may be related to your websites IP address but more often it’s just down to the recipients end. They need to add you into their address book and keep marking your emails as non-spam until their spam filters learn to recognise your emails better.

  63. I have 4 accounts of my own and the email keeps on getting into spam even when I specifically mark them as not spam. Adding to address book doesn’t help either. Notification emails sent to my own admin email gets in the spam folder.

    I guess I will wait for the next version to fix this issue. I know it has nothing to do with the plugin but strangely this alternate revision system works.. haha

  64. Hello,

    The plugin works efficiently with two glitches :

    1) It works only if users are to be notified of every single new post. It doesnt work if we have to send them a weekly or monrhtly record.

    2) The plugin by default gives access to Contributors to write an email to all the subscribers of Blog. This is a great drawback. Kindly rectify it.

    Let me know what is to be done.

    Regards,
    Tarun Trikha
    MLM Promoters Administrator

  65. Tarun,

    This version of the plugin works just fine for me on WordPress 2.6.1 and 2.6.2 doing per-post and digest emails.

    The facility for users who can write posts to be able to write emails to subscribers was a requested feature. It also makes sense because if a Contributor wanted to email your users they could just write a post and publish it! If it is a drawback to you then edit the code to remove the function or revert to a previous version.

    Remember that this is FREE software that I write for my own use and then make available – until I make a living from it will continue to be provided AS IS unless there are bugs that I urgently need to fix!

  66. Hi again (yep, I’m sick of me too).

    Even with your above suggestion (“if ( (empty($posts)) || (count($posts) < 10) ) { return; }”) I’m still getting an email after one post. Is it my settings? I currently have Subscribe2 set to ‘Post Per Email’ for the digest – is this right?

    Thanks,
    Matt

  67. Hi there🙂 Is there a feature with Subscribe2 to circumvent the limit my host applies to my emails? I have 750 subscribers and my host only permits 400 per day. If anyone could help, I would really appreciate it!

  68. Jasmine,

    There is no way that a plugin (or any software) can circumvent your host limits – you could look at changing hosts or applying a bit of lateral thinking.

    For example, you can use an alternate SMTP server to send your emails with provided you have authorised access to it and there are no limitations on the SMTP server.

  69. Wow, you are quick! Thank you so much. I am new to all this stuff so please ignore my ignorance😉 I saw somewhere that previous versions of this plugin allowed the user to change the settings to “Dreamhost” to prevent this restriction. Did I interpret it incorrectly? (which is highly likely) If this is the case, can I use a previous plugin for it to work?? Thanks again.

  70. Jasmine,

    The previous (and current) versions allow you to limit the number of recipients per email. This is a method of restriction used on some hosts including dreamhost. Sadly it won’t really help your situation as you have more subscribers then your daily email limit.

  71. Hello,

    I am facing an issue with the mail delivery. To some addresses, it delivers the same mail twice while to some, it doesnt deliver at all. Could you tell me a possible solution? I tried WP SMTP plugin but I am not having a SMTP server right now..

    Tarun

  72. Tarun,

    Email is intentionally designed to ensure that email IS delivered. This sometimes means getting an email twice rather than not at all.

    first, check you don’t have duplicates in your mailing database (Manage->Subscribers) and also make sure that PHP is given sufficient resources when running the scripts.

    Finally, try to get an SMTP account set up – Google is great if you can update your phpmailer class in WordPress as it keeps your outgoing emails in Sent Items so you can review for duplicates.

  73. Hi
    Great plugin

    I would like to know if someone fills in the subscribe form, should it update the subscription list automatically.
    I have the automatic setting activated should it not show in the subscribers list

  74. Pingback: westworld | Prototype stripTags

Comments are closed.