Subscribe2 4.4

Version 4.4 of the Plugin is now available for download.

Version 4.4 is for WordPress 2.3.x users only! This version has been tested on WordPress 2.3.2. This version has been released very close to the previous version due to some critical bugs that have been fixed in the cron handling functions.

Users of WordPress 2.0.x should download Version 2.22 of Subscribe2. Users of WordPress 2.1.x and 2.2.x should download Version 3.8.


This version contains the following improvements:

  • Fixed non-substitution of TABLE keyword
  • Fixed bug in usermeta update calls in unsubscribe_registered_users function
  • Fixed bug in array handling in cron function that may have stopped emails sending
  • Improved array handling in the Digest function
  • Added an Un-installer to completely removed Subscribe2 from your WordPress install

There are still 2 known issues caused by glitches in the WordPress core files. Fixes are discussed here.

If you use this plugin make a donation to support future development!

To install correctly:

  1. Deactivate your exisiting Subscribe2 Plugin
  2. Use FTP software to delete the old plugin and upload the new version
  3. Ensure that the complete subscribe2 folder and buttonsnap.php file are uploaded
  4. Activate the new version of the plugin

160 thoughts on “Subscribe2 4.4

  1. I think there is a real bug in this code. Seems that the plugin does not know how to update it’s next send time for hourly posts. Here’s a paste from my site:

    Current server time is: January 17, 2008 @ 7:13 pm

    Next email notification will be sent: January 16, 2008 @ 9:41 pm

    I have it set for hourly – so as you can see. I think we have a mixup!

  2. Patrick,

    What happens to these time if you check the reset time box in Options->Subscribe2? Are you sure your database user defined in wp-cinfig.php has all privileges to act upon your database?

    The last run time is updated the same way throughout the plugin so I can’t see how / why you are getting this issue.

  3. Hi,

    Sorry for my english.

    When I install Subscribe2 in the plugin panel. I see this warning in the bottom of all the administration pages.

    Warning: require_once() [function.require-once]: open_basedir restriction in effect. File(../wp-config.php) is not within the allowed path(s): (/home/www/95f60f136f6294d848439daa1f5512da:/tmp:/opt/php/lib/php) in /home/www/95f60f136f6294d848439daa1f5512da/web/blog/wp-admin/install-helper.php on line 2

    Warning: require_once(../wp-config.php) [function.require-once]: failed to open stream: Operation not permitted in /home/www/95f60f136f6294d848439daa1f5512da/web/blog/wp-admin/install-helper.php on line 2

    Fatal error: require_once() [function.require]: Failed opening required ‘../wp-config.php’ (include_path=’.:/opt/php/lib/php’) in /home/www/95f60f136f6294d848439daa1f5512da/web/blog/wp-admin/install-helper.php on line 2

    I don’t know if the latest version of the plugin work (I don’t write a new post). But before this version it works perfectly on my blog.

    Anoter trouble : It seems that this new version is simply incompatible with the plugin”ajax edit comment”. AEC just doesn’t work when the new version of subscribe2 is installed.

  4. Stellaire,

    Your issue and it’s fix are discussed here. It’s a problem caused in the core WordPress files.

    I don’t use AEC myself so I’m not sure about what the conflict might be – what versions were you using together okay and what version aren’t working?

  5. I reset the schedule to reflect the correct server time. Waited another hour, and nothing.

    Here’s what I see now…

    Current server time is: January 18, 2008 @ 11:16 am
    Next email notification will be sent: January 18, 2008 @ 8:44 am

    I do not suspect this is a permission issue. I have never had anything remotely related to permission/access issues on my site. So, I suspect the issue is with the code. 😦

    Does this new 4.4 version work for anyone else??

  6. Patrick,

    I’ve figured out something with the time settings – I think your blog time setting different to that on the server by entering a number under “Times in the blog should differ by” in Options->General Options.

    4.4 is working for others – it works fine for me🙂 and you are the only person to have posted about this issue.

    I have a debug plugin I’ve written if you would care to upload it and tell me of the output – let me know and I’ll email it directly to you. I’ll also happily send you a version of the plugin that fixes the time display under Options->Subscribe2

  7. Sounds good, You’ve got my email address.

    I currently adjust my WP dashboard time by -6 hours as I live in the Central time zone. This brings my blog time in sync with my local time, which seems correct right? What do you believe I am doing wrong, or what do I need to adjust?

    Patrick

  8. Patrick,

    I’ll email you direct shortly. You aren’t doing anything wrong but I need to check how WordPress stores the time because I’ve only seen a few instances of time changing by this much as most users set the time on the server.

    My server is located in the USA but as I live in England I’ve set the time to UK time – so the server thinks it’s in England or at least in my time zone.

  9. Natalie,

    Add the following to the code:


    add_action(’publish’, array(&$this, ‘publish’));

    Note that your subscribers may get 2 emails when you add a new post unless you comment out some of the other add_action commands

  10. I just install the latest plug-in of subscribe2 and are using the latest version of wordpress.
    I am having problem getting subscribe2 to work. I am the Admin and I have also created an authors account wth my girlfriends email address. I have both user subscribe to all the categories in my blog. But no email had been receive so far?
    I have no idea what im doing wrong. Is there a certain permission that I have to apply in the plugin folder in my directory? Or is there any tag or mailto information that I have to input manually into the subscribe .php file?

    thanks

  11. Hello.

    Dear Adminisrator, you’are a great guy😉 Thans for this really nice plug-in.
    With previous release I had the problem taht daily digest wasn’t sent. With this release it’s fixed, and I’m really happy with it.

    But I stille have another problem:
    Each time (day) subscribers receive 4 mails with daily digest.
    I already read somewhere about this problem, but at that time I didn’t have this problem.
    And now I can’t find anymore.

    Would you like to help me solving this issue?
    Thanks!

  12. Hey!

    This plugin is great, but I only have one problem.

    When I publish a new post, only the registered users receive an email about this. I added 76 people to this subcriptionlist and they are called “public subscribers”, but they dont receive anything. Did I do something wrong? Or does anybody know how to solve this?
    THNX!

  13. H.Yiu,
    Are you using per-post notifications? Have you checked your spam box? Have you checked with your host that you can send emails from your webserver? Have you looked into the server logs?

  14. Arthur,

    Are the 4 emails identical? Are they all copies of the digest email? Are you sure each subscriber is only subscribed once. Have you deactivated all other plugins to check for a conflict?

  15. Jolanda,

    Have you checked with your host about emailing limitations? I’ll bet they limit the number of outgoing emails or the number of recipients in the BCC header to combat spam. You may be able to work around te restrictions using the BCCLIMIT function in the code.

  16. Hello.

    Yes, all the 4 mails are the same. Each subscriber is only subscribed once.
    I checked for a conflict with other plugins, but not all yet.
    I can remember I read somewhere here about this issue. I think it happed each time when someone updates the settings in admin (Subscribe2) panel.
    I’ll try again testing with the settings. Maybe I’ll find something.

    Thanks again.

  17. Arthur,

    Are you sending per-post or digest emails? If it is the latter you could try resetting your Subscribe2 options. It might be that the same hook has been added 4 times, resetting will remove all the hooks and allow you to set them up again.

    Take care to note your email templates down first though as you’ll loose them in the reset.

  18. Hi

    I just upgraded the Subscribe2 from 4.2 to 4.4. 4.2 works well for me. However, I found that 4.4 can only sent to registered subscribers and not the public subscribers.

    I am using post per Email. Please advise me.

  19. Ang,

    Can you send to public subscribers from Mail->Subscribers? Is your subscribe2 table still there? Have you checked your server logs from blocked emails?

  20. Hi

    I’m sending daily digest emails. I had reset the setting for several times, but result was the same.

    Last night I received the daily digest, but 8 (!!!) times. But there’s also another problem. Normally my email to subscribers begin like that:
    “………. BLOGNAME has posted new items:
    TITLE
    PERMALINK ………..”
    But now I receive the mails without the post titles and permalinks. The rest of the mail (like (MYNAME and EMAIL) works fine. And for the latest week I have been posting almost every day, so … this is very strange too.

    And then … an hour ago I received again the daily digest mail. But this time only 1! I really don’t understand the reason of this, because I didn’t do snything special. I only uninstalled WP-OnlineUser plugin, and installed again (there was another problem with that plugin, but it’s solved). And again, there weren’t any post titles and permalinks.

    Thanks for you help!

  21. I added the line of code you suggested, and commented out the others, but no mail was sent when I updated a post. A message is only sent when I create a new post.

  22. Arthur,

    Only the TABLE and POST keywords are replaced in digest emails. TITLE and PERMALINK won’t be valid as there could well be more than one post in the digest email.

    I am looking into the time functions associated with the cron functions at the moment as they appear to have a few time based glitches.

  23. Natalie,

    Sorry, my mistake. This is because the hooks I link to pass the entire post details but the publish hook only passes the post ID.

    You could try adding a new function something like:


    function edit_post ($id=0) {
    if ($id = 0) return;
    $this->publish(get_post($id);
    }

    and then add the action leaving the other actions as the were:


    add_action('edit_post', array(&$this, 'edit_post'));

  24. Good evening (in Belgium it’s evening now).

    Thanks for you help.
    I’ve modified the template for digest mail.
    But before the problems began (and I started resetting the settings), I always received mails wih titles and permalinks. Probably I made a mistake, copying the template.

    Thanks again.

  25. Still not working. Is there a particular place the function edit_post… code needs to be? I placed it before function publish($post = 0) {….

  26. Arthur,

    I’m not sure how that could have happened unless these were substituted for the Title and Permalink of the last post in the digest. I’ll try to improve the descriptions in the next release.

  27. Natalie,

    The function doesn’t need to be anywhere special. I’m going to have to figure this one out for you but as it’s beyond the scope of the plugin I can’t give it priority. I’ll email you direct if I get a workable solution.

  28. Any chance of a simple “search for subscriber” function in a future version? Often I just need to locate 1 address to delete due to a lapsed account, or emailed unsubcribe address…

    Cheers
    Terry

  29. I’ve got subscribe2 to work 75% of the time using the “ShiftThis.net | Swift SMTP” Plugin. I am using my own email address created from my hosting account. Not gmail, yahoo, hotmail, etc.. When I say i got it 75% working is because all my subscriber are receiving my subscription notice email except those using using gmail accounts. Now I try setting the “ShiftThis.net | Swift SMTP” with my gmail account setting. I use their test verification to send each email server a test and they all receive it.
    But when it comes to posting and notifying, only the gmail user are unable to receive the email.

    What I am not quite sure how to go around this.

  30. H.Yiu,

    Have you asked the gmail users to check in their spam folder? It is not possible for the plugin to be generating emails to only go to certain domains – so it’s either the Swift SMTP plugin or spam filters.

  31. It is not in the spam folder. They all got send back with a rteurn “MAILER-DAEMON@smtpint.worldispnetwork.com” I think it has to do with the IP address wthat it send out from being flag as spam. I only have 10 register user. I dont think that this number is consider as mass mailing. But anyway, how do I edit the BCC code in where to avoid having more problem when my user list grow? Sorry, I read it from your other comment reply. But wasnt sure what you were talking about because I’m just not too familiar with codes and where it should go or edit.

    Thanks.

    -Hoyu

  32. H.Yiu,

    It certainly looks like you’ve got a blocked IP address as your SMTP server. There is nothing wrong with the Subscribe2 plugin in that case and not much I can suggest so fix it other than changing to an alternative mail server.

    You’ve obviously tried this by using gmail but that isn’t working so you’ll have to try another alternative. (Gmail does have in place some sending limitations)

  33. Hello again

    Sorry to bother you again. I got the gmail problem working again. Didnt do anything to solve it. I think the IP address just clear itself. But I’m experiencing another problem. Just like another user Arthur, I the admin have been getting 2 additional post email when a new post is up. My user only gets 1 thank god. But, it still bothers me. I’ve tried everything, reseting subscribe2, uninstall and installing again. I just keep on getting mulitple copy of the same notice from the same post. How do I solve this? I’m using per-post setting.

    Thanks

  34. H.Yiu,

    Depending upon the number of subscribers and their email preferences it is expected that you’ll get more than one email. One for plain text excerpt, one for plain full text and one for HTML. There will be additional duplication to you if you’ve set BCCLIMIT.

  35. Dear developer,

    thank you for your great plugin.
    I’m running WP 2.3 and subscribe2 v4.4. But unfortunately, the daily digest email has never been sent. Maybe that’S why noone has visited the site at 3 am (at the moment this site is under construction and not publicly available).
    As I am a developer for myself, I would like to ask you: how is this automatic sending at a special time invoked? Maybe I can write a workaraound to fix this and share it with you and others.

    Thanks,
    Tom

  36. I just forgot: I also want to add a button to invoke a digest mail “by hand”, so that I don’t have to wait for the next digestmail some hours later.
    Maybe you can give me a hint, where I can fine the proper code, so that I don’t have to search for myself all evening long.

    Thank you and best regards,

    Tom

  37. Tom,

    There is a pseudo-cron functionality built into WordPress with several API hooks. Basically when a page on your site loads the cron script is called and checks if anything needs to run. If the date for a task has passed the function is called.

    You’ll need to look at the subscribe2_cron function in the code, also look at the Subscribe2 trunk as I’ve made some changes in this area with time handling.

  38. I’m wanting to have a different template than my main template for the “subscription confirmation” page. Is this possible?

    I’ve tried adding information to the ($link = get_option(‘home’) . “/?s2=”;) link in the code, but it always breaks the link, or still displays the default “home” template.

  39. Hahaha… I tried too hard to find the code to change it… all I needed to do was read near the top! So, never mind.🙂 Thanks!

  40. Wonderful tool. Although my posts seem to be sending emails, the page never leaves the loading state (Firefox. I have not tried posting in Explorer. I do not want to flood my subscribers though so I will wait to try.

    If anyone’s accepting suggestions might I recommend a progress bar. It would complete the package. (although beggars can’t be choosers.

    Kuku,

    goto Presentations->Widgets. (I just learned how to use these as well. Always use the latest version of WordPress.

  41. Jim,

    Try deleting the subscribe2 folder and uploading it again. If this fails then grab a fresh archive from the server and try again.

    (Also, try to avoid cross posting the same query – I’ve already answer this from your original post)

  42. It may just be a problem with the theme I’m using, but my sidebar doesn’t seem to like the plugin very much and stretches it rather a lot: http://i27.tinypic.com/2zqbfjc.png – which doesn’t look too pretty. Is there a way to run Subscribe2 from a page, and just link the page from the sidebar?

  43. I tried deleting the file folder and reinstalling it. It still doesn’t show in the plug-in menu. Do I need something to make it appear? or is there a plug-in stopping it from showing?
    I appreciate your help.
    Jim

  44. Like Katie, using the widget seems to create a troublesome layout, although only in IE. Looks okay in FF. Is there a way to fix this or is this an issue with my template? Thanks!

  45. mk,

    The widget contains no formatting data so I’d say it was your theme. You can fix it in the template by defining CSS information for the form the widget adds to your sidebar.

  46. I’ve extracted the files and ftp them into the plugin folder. When I check from the plugins tab, it doesn’t show even though it is in the plugin folder. I’ve had no problems with other plugins. There has to be something preventing it.

    ~Jim

  47. I installed the plugin as instructed but it doesn’t show up on the Plugin page. I have uninstalled and reinstalled a couple of times but still get nothing on the Plugin page… any ideas?

  48. I used Ipswich to FTP the file in. It didn’t work with the usual plugin to upload files to WP. I figured it had to be installed in the WP Opt-in Folder (another plugin). It showed up after that. I hope this helps.
    ~Jim

  49. Jim,

    Thanks for that – I do suggest using FTP software to upload the plugin in the install instructions – perhaps I should specify that it should be non-WordPress. Subscribe2 has nothing to do with Opt-In either – they are separate plugins.

    Victoria – does that help?

  50. I’m using WordPress 2.3.2 with K2 and trying to use your Subscribe2 Widget — I can’t get it to show up in K2’s Sidebar Manager “Available Modules” section. Everything is installed and activated (it shows up in my Options page, etc.) but how can I get the Widget to work? Thanks so much!

  51. Hi

    Have been using the plugin for a while but from time to time (i.e. not always) I’m noticing that 2 digest emails are being sent out instead of one – the weird thing is that this isn’t happening continually, but will happen for 3-4 days, then work correctly, then a week or so later it will happen again. I receive the duplicate and so do my subscribers.

    Have checked and there’s no duplicate subscriptions…

    Any ideas?
    Terry

  52. A real question now… I think it is at least.🙂

    How can I make another form I’ve created access the subscribe2 function?
    Basically, I want to add the form into an area of my template, without the other radio-button options, so people can quickly subscribe to my newsletter. However, putting the into the template doesn’t do anything. And I’m not sure what the form I have made would need as a “value” or “action” to make it work.

  53. Josh,

    I don’t use the K2 theme and have no idea how the widgets work with K2 I’m afraid – you’ll have to debug that one on your own, sorry.

  54. Terry,

    It may be to do with the way cron works in WordPress – if the event is called twice in very rapid succession then the second event won’t note that the first event has been called but is still processing.

  55. Noel,

    This is no easy task. The existing form adds a user to the database and sends an email containing a link. Clicking the link then activates the subscriptions.

    By creating your own form you’d have to create a new function calling the existing add and activate functions. This is possible I guess but not something I have the time to commit to looking at right now.

  56. Thanks for the quick reply!

    Is there a way to simply put the subscribe2 form into a template instead of a post?

  57. So how would we stop the event being called twice? What triggers the event in the first place? I thought it was a “run at xpm” thing?

    Terry

  58. Noel,

    Honest answer is I don’t know as I’ve never tried🙂 Try adding the following PHP code to the template:


    $content = s2class::filter('<!--subscribe2-->');
    echo $content;

  59. Terry,

    I’ve done all that I can in the code to stop the cron functions being called twice – it’s now essentially down to server speed at executing the code and talking to the SQL database.

    Keep everything a smooth and small as you can by optimising the database but beyond that there is nothing more that I know to do that will stop this happening.

  60. Hey, it’s been quite sometime since I was here! Thanks for constantly updating your plugin, Matthew. Not to bug you with the non-widget based sidebar code, I sat all night and widgetized my theme but I am still stuck.

    My blog isn’t XHTML 1.0 Transitional because I need to remove the wrapped tags around subscribe2. I did what I had done for the sidebar but this time within your widget:

    instead of: $content = apply_filters(‘the_content’, ‘<!–subscribe2–>”);

    used: $content = apply_filters(‘the_content’, ‘<!–subscribe2–>’);

    It made no difference, somehow still shows up. I looked up load_strings() in the main plugin and can’t find what’s causing it!

  61. Swap,

    WordPress.com has probably stripped some HTML tags from your original comment. I’ve contact you off list for a copy of you template so I can review you files- Subscribe2 works and validates on my main site.

  62. Hey there,

    I’m having some problems with the daily digest. I’m using subscribe2 on my company’s intranet with the particular purpose of sending out a daily email with a digest of the day’s blog posting. However, it won’t send them out. I’ve check my log files, no errors there, I’ve tried the test email plug in you made, and that sends out emails fine. I’m really stuck here. Any advice?

    ps. I’ve checked my spam folder and I don’t think it’s getting caught in our company spam filter.

  63. Swap,

    The tag stripping is done by WordPress.com – sadly I have nothing to do with the stripping🙂

    For others – we sorted the issue off list; with Subscribe2 4.4 you should use the included Widget that can be activated in Options->Subscribe2

  64. Ok, so another question.

    I gave up on the digest function, it just won’t seem to work with our mail server.

    So, I’ve gone back to email notifications per post.

    I’ve got it so that users can manage their own subscriptions now, however registered users still are receiving email notifications from Admin posts. Even when they have elected not to subscribe to any categories.

  65. Jay,

    I’m working on the digest function to fix some bugs for the next release so bear with me🙂

    Are you also saying the Registered Users of your blog with no subscriptions under Users->Subscriptions when they log in are still getting emails?

  66. Yup. They are still getting emails.

    Basically I’m using WordPress to power my company’s (private) intranet and blog. In order for users to see it, they need to be registered & approved users. So I don’t know if that is screwing things up, but I really have been scratching my head on this.

    Hit me up on IM if you want. I’d appreciate it if you can help me trouble shoot this.

    gchat: jayselway (at) gmail (dot) com
    aim: cyzummuzyc
    msn: cyzum (at) comcast (dot) net

  67. Hi,

    is it possible to keep my translations? Every time I update this realy nice Plug In I have to enter the translated strings again. Can you move all the strings into an extra file which I can keep on a update?

    That would be a realy nice feature.🙂

    Thanks,

    Sascha

  68. Noel,

    WordPress.com had stripped some of the content that I posted – I’ve corrected the original comment – so try again with the corrected code.

  69. Sascha,

    Pulling the strings out into a different file would be very difficult for me to keep track of. I always try to minimise changes to translation files between versions but this is a side effect of continual development.

  70. Jay,

    Tried IM’ing you but no joy. Look under Manage->Subscribers at the drop down filter. How many subscribers are in each category?

    If the number showing for each category is higher than you are expecting you can bulk unsubscribe ALL subscribers from a category using the form at the bottom of the same page.

  71. In looking at the latest “readme,” I noted that it said the code was adjusted so that it would validate, however upon installing new version 4.4 and checking, I still get one (the same) failed validation error that I have always gotten. Something about the word “form” not being allowed where/when it is used. The complete analysis can be seen by trying to validate the page http://www.waggleweight.com/blog/subscribe-by-e-mail/

    Perhaps no noticeable functionality will be lost because of this, and I do not see any other problems, but I know very little about such things. I just thought I would chime in again about this, which I did once several months ago. Thanks.

  72. Thanks! Sorry it’s taking me so long to get back to YOU each time… however, I’m actually working on this today, so I will be checking back often.

    Anyway… tried the revised code (thank you) and still nothing.

    This is what I’m putting in… (things in caps are things that get stripped by WordPress.com)

    OPEN-BRACKET QUESTION-MARK PHP DOLLAR-SIGNcontent = s2class::filter(”);
    echo DOLLAR-SIGNcontent; QUESTION-MARK CLOSED-BRACKET

    Is that correct?
    Feel free to email me the code if it’s not… I think we’re close… it’s just not there yet.🙂

    Thanks again!

  73. Grr… it STILL stripped some stuff.😛
    Basically I’m putting in what you told me too… within a “php” wrapper.

  74. Wasn’t planning on upgrading to WP 2.3.3 because I didn’t want to mess around with the code in install-helper.php again. However, while investigating 2.3.3 I saw that your ticket was resolved in this update…so no more editing the file. I haven’t installed 2.3.3 yet, but will be doing so soon. I’ll let you know if there are any issues.

  75. I’d love to know if it’s possible to change the “default” options as to which type of mail Public Subscribers get.

    ie, instead of “Plain Text – Excerpt” I could set default subscription to “Plain Text – Full Post”.

    Thanks for the contrib!

  76. I am evaluating this plugin for my blog. Is there a way to email to subscribers “on demand”, i.e. only when I write new posts that might be of general interest?
    Otherwise, can i match subscribers to categories? I can’t seem to find where do to this.
    thanks!

  77. Alessandra,

    You could create a general interest category and exclude all other categories from generating email notifications.

    You could just send an email out via Wrtite->Mail subscribers when you’ve made the post and exclude all categories.

    You could turn off the plugin most of the time until you want to send a notification for the post you are writing.

  78. Yes, I was still getting an error… but, I figured out a way to do what I was wanting to do.

    What I did was I made a post that only had the Subscribe2 code in it.
    I then made a template page that only displayed that post (using the ID #).
    I then made a page that used the new template for its styling.
    I then used an “include” feature to include that template into the “header” area of my site.

    It worked great!🙂

    Thanks again for all your help!

  79. A new question… am I missing how to make the emails HTML by default? I want them all to be HTML… including the “confirmation” email.

  80. Hi,

    I encountered the same problem as Patrick did. Time is always weird. I tried to set offset = 0 hours in options->general. It didn’t work. No daily digest has ever received by subscribers. Have you figured out why? I am using subscribe2 4.4 and wordpress 2.3.3. Swift smtp is installed to solve the email problem I had (i used gmail to configure it). Thanks a lot for your reply.

  81. Also, I sent out a test email through writing->subscribers. Only myself (admin) got the email. The others (gmail, hotmail) couldn’t get anything. Please advise me!

  82. Dean,

    This is only possible if you make a hack to the code or pay me to make the hack for you🙂

    Lol, ok … thanks anyway!

  83. The email sent through writing->subscribers is received (it took a while). So, the email configuration should be fine.😦.

  84. I’m struggling a little getting FeedWordPress 0.992 and Subscribe2 4 talking to each other. Basically if I retrieve a syndicated post manually, Subscribe2 notices what is going on and send out the relevant emails to subscribers of the relevant categories. If, however, the post is made automatically by the scheduled execution of FeedWordPress, Subscribe2 doesn’t send out the emails.

    Any thoughts would be very much appreciated.

    Mike

  85. Mike,

    This is probably because the two plugins are using different hooks. I’m using new functions in WordPress 2.3 and FeedWordPress is still using publish_post. You’ll need to update the action hooks in one of the two plugins to get the two working together.

  86. i`m using the AddThis social bookmark plugin on my blog, and after i added the subscribe2 widget automatically bellow the subscribe2 i have the AddThis Button. I dont like this, is there any way to prevent the button to appear bellow the subscribe2 widget ?
    (i tried adding the form directly to my sidebar.php file but nothing showed up, actually i can make any modifications to that file and nothing changes on my sidebar😦 )

  87. Mike,

    You are seeing this because both plugins are applying changes to the the_content filter in WordPress.

    Subscribe2 filters by replacing a token in the text with the form or other information, if the token is not present nothing happens.

    AddThis is applying an appendix to all calls to the same filter so the issue is with the combination of the plugins – there is nothing I can add to my code to fix this but the AddThis author may be able to suggest a work around for you.

  88. I run Subscribe2 with Danish .po and .mo files. on two seemingsly identical installations (I know, no two installations are really identical). Everything seems to work with Danish texts etc. on the first. On the second, Subscribe 2 displays Danish texts and options – except for the three mail templates.

    Also, the subscription form is translated, but the mails sent – whose content is shown in the three boxes on the Options page – are in English.

    We (I, my webserver administrator, and an expert in software engineering) have checket for upload errors, permission errors etc., but we cannot figure out why Subscribe2 do not translate the mail contents on the one system.

    Any suggestions?

  89. RevRres,

    Translation files will only translate the template mails if they are installed before the plugin is activated for the first time. To change the template layouts go to Options->Subscribe2 and edit the 3 email templates.

  90. My fault. I thought the template texts were read-only because one of them was in grey. I don’t know how I got that idea.

  91. I’m looking at using this plugin in a corporate environment.

    Other than not having the subscribe form on a page, is there any way to ensure that only registered users can subscribe?

    With thanks.

    -Techxplorer

  92. Techxplorer,

    If you are only allowing registered users to subscribe why would you want to display the form?

    If you only want it available to allow easier log-in then you could hack the plugin and replaced the default form with a simple text or blank entry. The other way would be to reverse the action of the barred domains and only allow registrations from defined domains.

  93. Administrator,

    Yep, that is my point. I wasn’t planning on showing the form at all. The idea being if I don’t give them a form they can’t use it.🙂 But I was wondering if there was anything else I could do.

    Essentially I’m using an LDAP plugin for authentication, wpDirAuth, and so registered users are guaranteed to be from my organisation. I was just making sure I’d covered all of the bases.

    Many thanks for a great plugin.

    -Techxplorer

  94. Techxplorer,

    You don’t need to do anything further, without the form being displayed a random passing user will not be able to insert their email address into the public subscriber table and so cannot activate a public subscription.

  95. Administrator,

    Thanks for confirming my theory, greatly appreciated, as is your plugin. My project wouldn’t have got off the ground without it.

    Many thanks once again.

    -Techxplorer

  96. Hi!

    Everytime, when I try to activate the plugin, it produces a fatal error.

    Warning: main(/homepages/37/d150883902/htdocs/wordpress/wp-content/plugins/buttonsnap.php) [function.main]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /homepages/37/d150883902/htdocs/wordpress/wp-content/plugins/subscribe2/subscribe2.php on line 48

    Fatal error: main() [function.require]: Failed opening required ‘/homepages/37/d150883902/htdocs/wordpress/wp-content/plugins/buttonsnap.php’ (include_path=’.:/usr/local/lib/php’) in /homepages/37/d150883902/htdocs/wordpress/wp-content/plugins/subscribe2/subscribe2.php on line 48

    I tried on different blogs with same result.

    Please help!

    Michael

  97. Micheal,

    The error is telling you the problem – the plugin cannot find a required file, namely the buttonsnap.php file. This means you have either not uploaded it to your server or you uploaded it to the wrong place. It should be in wordpress/wp-content/plugins/.

  98. Is it possiblein the next version/revision of the plugin to add a field to use as ‘display name’ in the sender of the mail. I dont want to use the “display_name” of my blog

  99. Izar,

    I try to use as few user-defined variables as possible so that initial set up is as easy as possible. For that reason I won’t be implementing any changes to define a display name in preferences.

    You can edit the code in the mail() function though to obtain your own preferred operation for the plugin.

  100. Hi,

    I found that email went through when I turned off the widget although the time is still not right. I scheduled at 12:00pm and the email was sent at 2:00 pm. Hope this information helpful for your next release.

  101. Hi! I am a co-administrator of a small blog for my friends, and I have been testing Subscribe2 for a few weeks. Every time I receive an email from the blog, it is only for one person’s posts (the other co-administrator) and never when anyone else posts. That is, Brian, Elaine and Linda might all post entries, but I only receive emails when Brian posts something.

    Any ideas? Thanks!

  102. Never mind – looks like things are working okay… not sure what happened before, must have been a PEBKAC issue. Thanks!

  103. Jing,

    I’ve been working on the time functions for the next release – hopefully sorted a few things out in that code – now if I can just get the Editor buttons working for WordPress 2.5 I’ll release a new version😦

  104. Great and essential plugin , but can’t help asking ‘can you also give an option for subscribing to comments’ also? Comments are often the conversation piece of a blog and it’s really useful to know when a comment has followed your own comment, especially if it’s a question. I know there is already a ‘subscribe to comments’ plugin, but it seems pointless to run 2 plugins that are so similar. What are your thoughts?

    Thanks, Rachelle.

  105. Rachelle,

    The plugins may be similar in the user side function that they provide but beyond that they are very different. My plugin is over 2000 lines of code lone and Subscribe to Comments is over 1000 – combining the two plugins would be complicated and not really save much coding space. This is not something I’ll be developing.

  106. Hi,
    I currently administer a site in conjunction with a client and I installed Subscribe2 for them recently.

    However, the Subscribe2 plugin sends me notifications of new subscriptions instead of to the wordpress main email address only. How do I stop it sending me stuff?

    Regards,
    Isaac

  107. Isaac,

    Have a look at the confirm function, the recipients are all admin level users of the blog – you need to change this to just the blog admin rather than all admins. Try changing the line starting $recipients to:


    $recipients = $this->get_userdata();

  108. Hey Patrick,

    My Subscribe2 plugin was working great, but now whenever I do a new post I get a 500 internal error has occured and no e-mails are sent out. I deactivated the plugin to see if it was the cause and it seems to be. It worked fine for about 3 posts and then I started getting this error…any ideas?

    Thanks,
    Steve

  109. Good day Admin🙂

    I installing today Subscribe2 4.4 and take one problem. I use one script autoblog. This script grab news with RSS and add my blog.
    Problem:
    I run autoblog script, script correct add post but Subscribe2 don’t send email how don’t see new post. if I add message via administration page wordpress Subscribe2 correct send message on email.
    Please help me fix this problem.

  110. Steve,

    Did you change anything? How many subscribers have you got? 500 errors are pretty non-specific so it might be worth asking your hosting provider for assistance.

    It could be a memory shortage for script execution or a configuration issue on the server.

  111. Alex

    Subscribe2 hooks in to the WordPress API for publication of posts. It would seem likely that your autoblog script is not using the API but is inserting content into the database directly.

    If this is the case you’ll need to find a different autoblog script that makes better use of the WordPress API.

  112. I’ve got about 860 subscribers. What I don’t get is it worked fine for the first three blog posts…should I reinstall the script?

    Since then all I did was add a statcounter plugin, which again worked fine once with subscribe 2. I did mess with some permissions on the root folder…would this cause anything?

    Thanks,
    Steve

  113. Steve,

    A reinstall is always the first step just in case something got borked on the server.

    Permissions can always mess things up, especially on the root folder! Any chance you can change those permissions back to default?

  114. Forgive my inglues’s bad Willian my name is and I am in Brazil, when I install the Subscribe 2 gave the following error

    Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 16777216 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 368640 bytes) in /web/sites/dinheirorico.com.br/wp-content/plugins/buttonsnap.php on line 339

  115. Willian,

    Your server appear to be set for 16Mb to allow for script execution. Try increasing this to 32Mb and try deleting buttonsnap.php and uploading it again to ensure it is not corrupt.

  116. Hi!

    I’m using 4.4 and everything is working well except for one thing that has me perplexed: I have the option set to default to a full post (not just excerpt) email for subscribers. The subscribe form is not displaying any options in this regard (not that I need it to, nor do I know if it is supposed to) but subscribed email addresses only get the excerpt. I’ve unsubscribed and re-subscribed myself several times to test, but I continue to get only the excerpts on new posts, not the full post (I have mine configured for one email per post).

    If this were my own site, it wouldn’t be that big of a crisis because I could just paste the full post into the excerpt box, but it’s for a client who is not terrifically Web-savvy and it would be a confusing extra step for them.

    Has anyone else run into this?

    Thanks!

  117. Lyza,

    Full post and HTML email options only apply to Registered Users who are subscribers. Anyone who enters their email address using the form becomes a public subscriber and will only get an excerpt of the post. This is expected behaviour of the plugin.

  118. Hello all, especially Administrator🙂
    Your Plugin is awesome.

    I encountered an annoying little problem with converting the plugin into valid Xhtml strict.
    <?php
    $content = apply_filters(‘the_content’, ‘‘);
    echo $content;
    ?>

    This delivers me the form within -tags.
    How to get just the formular without the paragraph??

    Thx in advance,

    jules from germany

  119. Jules,

    The form defined within the plugin contains no paragraph tags so these are either already in your theme or are being added to the_content filter by WordPress or another plugin.

    My guess as to the most likely cause would be your theme not using div tags for the sidebar layout.

  120. Jules,

    I’m guessing that WordPress.com stripped out some code from your previous post.

    The ‘form’ is dynamic, in that it appears as an HTML form if you are not logged in, it feeds back messages to users who are subscribing and tells you to visit your profiles if you are a logged in WordPress user. It is therefore necessary to use the WordPress the_content filter.

    For your formatting issue you could try accessing the filter directly with:

    $content = s2class::filter('');
    echo $content;

  121. Jules,

    My apologies, I’ve only just noticed that WordPress.com has stripped out some of the comment I made is should have read:


    $content = s2class::filter('<!--subscribe2-->');
    echo $content;

  122. With this implemented I get the following (at least :D):

    Fatal error: Using $this when not in object context in /www/htdocs/w0067046/isho/wp-content/plugins/subscribe2/subscribe2.php on line 1908

  123. Jules,

    Why aren’t you using the Subscribe2 token in a post / page or using the Widget option?

    If you really want to call the functions directly from within a template then you’ll need to declare a new class and then access the filter via that.

  124. I have install Subscriber2. Both the testmail and mail subscribers work.

    I created a sample new post and we didnt receive any email stating new email msg

    Can you please tell me what to?

  125. Netwmarket,

    First thing to try is the just release version 4.5. If that doesn’t help then contact your site host and ask them to check the server logs and tell you why the emails are being blocked.

  126. Gofree,

    In Options->Subscribe2 check the option to activate the Widget then go to Presentation->Widgets and drag the Subscribe2 widget to your sidebar.

Comments are closed.