Subscribe2 4.0

Version 4.0 of the Plugin is now available for download.

Version 4.0 is for WordPress 2.3.x users only! This version has been tested on WordPress 2.3.

Users of WordPress 2.0.x should download Version 2.22 of Subscribe2. Users of WordPress 2.1.x and 2.2.x should download Version 3.8.


This version contains the following improvements:

  • Fixed User Menu Settings when Digests enabled
  • Changed Registered Subscribers to Registered Users in drop down to avoid confusion
  • Minor code revisions for admin menu layout

Known Issues:

  • Upon activating the plugin you may get an error regardin openbase_dir. This is due to a bug in WordPress. It will hopefully be fixed in the next release of WordPress or you can read the bug report and apply the fix yourself.
  • When a Subscriber confirms a subscribption the webpage shown will replace the names of all your pages with “Subscription Confirmed”. This is due to a bug in WordPress that might get fixed in WordPress version 2.4

If you use this plugin make a donation to support future development!

To install correctly:

  1. Deactivate your exisiting Subscribe2 Plugin
  2. Use FTP software to delete the old plugin and upload the new version
  3. Ensure that the complete subscribe2 folder and buttonsnap.php file are uploaded
  4. Activate the new version of the plugin

107 thoughts on “Subscribe2 4.0

  1. Something is wrong with the download. I download the files and upload them on my site but after the page refresh it still tells me to download 4.0!

  2. Christopher,

    I’ve just checked this on my test install and it’s working for me. I’m not getting any notification of a newer plugin from version 4.0.

  3. I’m still having issues with emails being sent out when pages are created, even though I have it set not to. The pages are categorized under the default category, which is not excluded, so I don’t know if that is causing the problem. I’ve checked the include/options.php file and it also says that pages is set to “no” Thanks for any thoughts you have on this.

  4. Kiltscher,

    On my test install I can’t see how you can be assigning a “Page” to a category. This makes me think you are writing a “Post” and not a “Page” and that is why you are getting a notification.

  5. I get the following error, after upgrading to 4.0, where posts should be in my dashboard and at the bottom of my dashboard.

    Warning: require_once(../wp-config.php) [function.require-once]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in ../wp-admin/install-helper.php on line 2

    Fatal error: require_once() [function.require]: Failed opening required ‘../wp-config.php’ (include_path=’.:/usr/share/php:/usr/share/pear’) in ../wp-admin/install-helper.php on line 2

  6. Just installed the v4 and it causes my WP 2.3 install to display a “>” along with full blank line on all pages… including both regular site pages and admin pages. I deactivate the plug-in and everything returns to normal.

    Anyone see this? I have just spent an hour narrowing this down and don’t feel like looking for the extra > somewhere in the plug-in code

  7. Eric,

    Is this displayed once or more often for each page? Do you have other plugins enabled at the same time?

    I can’t think how this could be caused as I’m not linking in to any process that affects every single page.

  8. Hi,

    I have a simmilar problem klitscher has.
    I’m using Subscribe2 since version 2.x. I have used many of the previous versions and never had that problem before.

    Every time I create a “Page” an notification e-mail is send like when creating “Posts”. Double checked: Set to “no” in “Send Emails for Pages”.

    Issue started after upgrading to WordPress 2.3 and Subscribe2 4.0.

  9. I initially noticed it on the admin dashboard, where it was dsiplayed multiple times as a “>” by itself. Also, most of the deashboard components did not display. In many places there was a > instead of content. However, the most obvious was a “>” with an entire blank (white) line following along the top of the page that displayed throughout the admin panel.

    On my site itself, it just displayed as a “>” at the top of each page, lowering all of my content by 1 line.

  10. Mr. Fish,

    Do you mean the SideBar? You change the title in Presentation -> SideBar Widgets and click on the right icon on the Widget.

    If you mean the menus in the admin panel you’ll have to edit the source code.

  11. Thank you, i was talking about the SideBar yes. I fixed it now.

    Another question, look at this:

    http://www.sxm-airport.com/media

    you can see that the subscribe and unsubscribe buttons are not outlined well (or how do i explane this). I want the subscribe radio button and the unsubscribe radio button each on a own line. in which php file can i edit this…anyone a idea?

  12. Hi,

    your plugin is too good for me🙂

    is there some code to make everyone have to enter his email-adress, even the subscribers. cs i have one user for several people and they all need to be notified

  13. Mr. Fish,

    The form is defined in subscribe2.php so you could add a <br /&gt: into the code to split the radio buttons over 2 lines. You could also edit the CSS of your theme to change the layout.

  14. Fortyniner,

    All subscribers must enter their own email address. If, on your site, you have allowed several users to have access to on WordPress User login then you will need to set them up as public subscribers or give them all separate User logins.

  15. Hi,

    Excellent work!
    I am however having a problem with the emails that it sends out, the problem being that that emails are being sent with this: “”<” < ” in the “from” field. I have set emails to be sent from the “blog admin”, could the problem here be that there are in fact TWO blog admins?

  16. Marco,

    I doubt it has anything to do with you having 2 admins. Try looking in the mail function in subscribe2.php and changing the line where the From: header is defined. Try the following:

    $headers = “From: ” . $this->myemail . “\n”;

    It won’t send your name linked to the email address but should removed the pointed brackets. You may also need to do the same on the next line.

  17. Hi,

    Sorry I wasn’t clear about this before, but the problem is not that there are brackets, the problem is that there are nothing *but* brackets😉 There is no name or email address in the From field.

    I have fixed the issue though, and I think I even found what you might call a bug. I noticed that the code you pointed me to was preceded by:

    if (” == $this->myname) {
    $admin = get_userdata(1);

    Where ‘1’ is of course a user id, BUT since I have no user with that ID, variables like $admin->user_email were coming up empty. Changing all appearances of get_userdata(1) to get_userdata(3) fixed my problem.

    While I think there is something to say for assuming that the user with ID 1 is the blog admin, it may not be good practice to assume that there actually is a user with ID 1😉 So I guess you may want to look into this. Maybe introduce a new setting where you can fill out the ID of the user you wish to assign as ‘blog admin’, or something?

  18. Marco,

    Thanks for the clarification. I know what you mean about assuming admin is ID 1 but this is the default condition on a WordPress install. Only if users add and delete admins will this change.

    Adding another user definable option just increases the level of complexity for the majority of users. for that reason I think I’ll have to leave things the way they are but I’ll try and figure out a fix – perhaps with a looping check to see if $this->myname is still blank after getting the user data for ID = 1.

  19. A small, potentially irrelevant bug.

    When changing the “page slug” in the WP Pages/Edit page I’ve found Subscribe2 tries to send out a notification (I have enabled Digest per new post/page). This mail is just a blank template email with no page content.

    This isn’t that inconvenient, however I’ve also had error messages from my host about infinite php loops consuming too much memory and resources. If I disable Subscribe2 before changing page-slugs then this error doesn’t occur.

    I’m sure this is going to be difficult to replicate/fix, but I thought you ought to know about it anyway. Otherwise very happy with Subscribe2 so thanks for writing it.

  20. Rick,

    The only thing I can think of is that post_date is changed when you change post_slug. If you have changed a large number of post slugs then you may well have inadvertently generated a massive Digest Notification if these dates do indeed change.

    It is therefore quite possible that the PHP / SQL query timed out or ran out of memory.

  21. Maybe I missed this somewhere but is there any way to also collect the name of the person who is subscribing in addition to their e-mail address. I want to use the plugin primarily to get people to subscribe to a mailing list and I think I should also have their full name.

    Oh, and thanks for this wonderful plugin.

    Kurt

  22. My subscribers do not get their email. I have used your mail test plugin, and that works just fine.

    They can subscribe just fine (they are all registered users (but not admins) of the blog, so they all do it via the admin interface, not the public interface). When they come back, they can modify their settings (digest prefs, categories, etc.) and that all gets saved.

    As the admin, when I visit the manage > subscribers page, I do not see them as subscribed, I just see the list of registered users. The filter drop down does not contain any subscribers. If I subscribe another address manually from that page, I do see that address listed as confirmed.

    The only email that gets sent out is the to: email to the admin, none of the bcc emails ever show up. WP 2.3, and Subscribe2 4.0.

    In the db, the table wp_subscribe2 is empty, with no data, despite the user being able to log out, log back in, and see his subscription options set as he left them.

    Any thoughts?

  23. Kurt,

    The plugin does not collect the name of public subscribers, this is done only if the user registers via WordPress and completes their profile details.

  24. Danny,

    The Subscribe2 table is only used for public subscribers which is why it is empty. If your users are registered, are you sure that they have chsoen some categories to subscribe to? Can you see some of your categories in the filter drop down with a number next to it?

    If you are certain that you have subscribers and the email test plugin works then the issue os most likely with the BCC header and an email limitation on your host.

  25. Hi again. I am certain that I have subscribers. The wp_usermeta table does have s2 information in it for the correct user IDs. In addition, I did receive the first email, to my admin email address, but the subscriber did not receive an email on that occasion. Plus, I have since posted a couple more items (the subscriber is subscribed to all categories) and have received no email, either to the admin address or the subscriber address. The settings are set to one email per new post.

    It doesn’t sound like a bcc problem, but I am not really sure what it does sound like.

  26. Danny,

    If you’ve had some emails and then it’s stopped working it could well be an email limit on your host. Some hosts limit the number of out-going emails allowed per unit of time. It’s also usually the case that each BCC recipient is counted as a separate email.

    You’ll need to check with your host about what limitations they have in place for out-going emails. If it’s worked once (even partly) then it’s not a plugin issue – subscribe2 really isn’t that complicated – honestly!

  27. I’m having the same problem as a few posters above. I’m using WordPress for my wife’s fledgling business website, and the subscribe2 plugin to allow people to subscribe to a newsletter that she creates – newsletters are posted as blog entries in the “newsletter” category. I’ve got Subscribe2 set to NOT inform subscribers of page changes, but they’re getting messages every time any change is made to the website (which consists mostly of pages, with a few posts), even though they had only subscribed to her newsletters. Essentially, her 40+ subscribers were getting spammed and she didn’t know it (oops!) until one of them told her.

  28. One thing I forgot to ask – is there any way to set subscribe2 to not inform ALL admin accounts when someone subscribes? My wife and I both have admin accounts, but I could care less when someone subscribes to her newsletter. She’d like to be informed, however. I don’t see anything in any of subscribe2’s configuration windows that will allow me to turn subscriber notification on and off for a given admin (or even globally, though my wife wouldn’t want that).

  29. One feature I would love to see is for subscribe2 to log the IP address of the subscriber. This will help in controlling abuse, allowing for the banning of those offending IP addresses.

  30. Erik,

    You can try the Development Version of Subscribe2 – I think I’ve fixed the page issue.

    You can manually edit the code to stop it sending you notifications to all admins by changing the $recipients variable in the confirm function.

  31. Hi there.

    I just have one (hopefully simple) question. I’ve searched at all the usual places and couldn’t locate the answer.

    I’m using WP 2.3 and Subscribe2 4.0.

    How do I configure the From Name of confirmation e-mails? I think it goes to the first user, which is usually “admin” but I’ve deleted that user so now e-mails show up with the From Name blank.

    Can you direct me where to edit?

    Thanks so much!

  32. In case anyone else hits this, it would appear that Subscribe2 and WordPress Automatic Upgrade are incompatible with each other. With one activated, activating the other causes the error:

    Plugin could not be activated because it triggered a fatal error

    This was with a clean WordPress 2.3 install.

    So for now, no automatic upgrades.

    – Neil.

  33. Josh,

    You need to look through the code in Subscribe2.php for 5 instances of get_userdata(1) and change the number. If you’ve deleted user ID 1 you need to find the ID of your main admin account in Users -> Authors & Users.

  34. Neil,

    I’ve just checked out the WPAU plugin. I can’t get version 0.7 to activate on a fresh install of WordPress 2.3 with no other plugins active. Not sure what’s going on and as it’s not my plugin I’m not going to spend too long looking.

    Have you notified the author of WPAU too?

  35. That worked perfectly of course.

    This is an awesome plugin and your immediate support is much appreciated!

  36. You can try the Development Version of Subscribe2 – I think I’ve fixed the page issue.

    I’d like to try that, but where do I find the latest development version? I’ve looked around on this page and don’t see a link to it, nor do I see any links to it on the WordPress “extend” site.

  37. ever since I installed the old version, all my reg users were auto-marked as subscribers, and many complained. I was short in time so I just turned it off.

    however I tried again to install the new ver, they are subscribed again against their will and I can’t seem to unsub them. there’s a way to mass-unsub for certain categories but not from the entire feed. help? which table is this stored in in MySQL?

  38. Eric,

    I’m still not able to explain why you are seeing this. Does it happen if you only have Subscribe2 active?

    Yes, if I disable Subscribe2 everything returns to normal.

  39. עירא

    Have a look in Manage->Subscribers at the Bulk Management section towards the bottom of the screen. You can bulk unsubscribe your registered users your selected categories here.

  40. Hi, great job with subscribe2!

    But I still have an issue: the user asks for subscription and receives the confirmation email but, when he clicks on the link, he gets the same subscription page again. I mean, he does NOT get the “Subscription Confirmed” page neither his subscription gets confirmed.

    I use wp-cache is there any known incompatibility?

  41. Oops, sorry about the Hebrew name🙂

    I wrote – I could mass-unsubscribe from spesific categories but NOT FROM THE MAIN FEED. The users all get a daily summery of the FULL feed, and I found no way of unsubscribing them from that. I can do it for myself, but not for other users. I don’t mind doing it directly in the MySQL tables, if you tell me where…

  42. I intalled the pluguin but the 80% of the subscibers in my web are from hotmail and the plugin subscribe 2 sends the mail to the SPAM FOLDER.

    Can you help me ???

  43. Ira,

    I presume you are using digest then? If you unsubscribe your registered users from all categories they shouldn’t get the digest.

    Alternatively, look through the usermeta table for entries with the key of s2_subscribed and change the value to -1.

  44. Pedro,

    I’ve done as much as I can in constructing the email headers so they won’t get tagged as spam. You’ll have to get your subscribers to add your sending address to their address book and keep tagging your emails a ‘not spam’.

  45. Hi, I like your Plug-In and I want to use it together with templatedia, so I have the registration form on the end of every post. What do I have to do to make this possible? Thanks Sascha

  46. Hi, thanks for your help. But I need a pluguin that sends a mail directly into the default Folder and not into the SPAM folder of Hotmail becouse hotmail is 80% of my subscribers. I’m using 3.8 version of subscribe2 into WP 2.2.3

    Do you know another pluguin or a solution into subscribe2???, I have a dedicated server.

    Thanks

  47. Sascha,

    You could simply insert the subscribe2 token at the end of each post. Beyond that you’ll have to hack the template yourself but look at the filter function and the widget functions in the subscribe2.php file to guide your hacking.

  48. Pedro,

    As I said, I’ve done all I can to ensure that Subscribe2 emails are not marked as spam but if there was a way for me to construct an email that evaded sam filters you can be sure that the spammers would have used it by now🙂

    There is no easy way around this. Mail being delivered into a spam folder is not the fault of the sender, it’s usually down to server software and spam filters on the client. I’m afraid I know of no solutons to your problem other than those outlined above.

  49. Just installed subscriber2 v 4.0 to wordpress 2.3 and have been getting fatal errors.

    Warning: main(../wp-config.php) [function.main]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/nicki/public_html/memnow/wordpress-2.3/wordpress/wp-admin/install-helper.php on line 2

    Fatal error: main() [function.require]: Failed opening required ‘../wp-config.php’ (include_path=’.:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php’) in /home/nicki/public_html/memnow/wordpress-2.3/wordpress/wp-admin/install-helper.php on line 2
    Any help would be appreciated :o)

  50. Hi.

    Congratulations for the excellent work. It’s a plugin very useful and customizable.

    The only problem i have: when i select ‘daily digest’ and ‘once weekly’, the plugin doesn’t send the mails (to any account). I’ve read your explanation that, for that options, we need wp-cron to run properly. But i’m with WP 2.3, which in theory already have a prseudo-cron, and in the page of the author of wp-cron, he says that the plugin is actually discontinued because from WP 2.1 a cron is built-in.

    Do i have to install de wp-cron plugin anyways in 2.3 or there is some workaround to this problem?

    I must say that in ‘per post’, all run quick and smooth.

    Thanks in advance!

  51. Sorry, i leave you a ‘technical update’ (maybe it’s useful): In the ‘delivery options’, the ‘current server time’ and ‘next notification’ are accurate (but when the first value = to second, last value increases one week but nothing happens).

    Thx

  52. Really amazing plugin!! Instead of a confirmation message after readers subscribe, I wanted to redirect to a page of my choice. I made the following changes to the code, and it works. Just wondering if you think there will be problems with this change:

    $this->filtered = 1; //set this to not send duplicate emails

    header(“Location: /index.php”); //note: this is the redirect: the line below is the original, commented out, this is the changed line.

    //$this->s2form = $this->confirmation_sent;//

  53. As always, thanks for your great plug-in; I have been using it through several versions now. In the last version and this most recent though I am having a problem where a notification is sent not only with a new post but also every time I edit a post. This is true whether I immediately edit a post just published (due to a typo or something left out) or if the post is months old.

    I have verified that when I edit the post the “edit time stamp” option is not checked, so I know the date of the post is not being moved forward to trigger the notification.

    I am using v 4.0 of your plug in and WP v 2.3.

    Any tips to fixing this would be much appreciated. Thanks!

  54. Matthew – Thank you for the 4.1 Dev version of subscribe2. I finally got a chance to install it, and conducted a bunch of tests with it, and as far as I can determine, it fixes the problem I had with pages and other categories of posts being sent to subscribers! I appreciate the quick response and support you give to your users.

    Also, I wanted to put in a quick request – You mentioned to look for “get_userdata(1)” and replace it with the appropriate user number if the admin account has been deleted (I wish I could re-index the user accounts…). To prevent users from having to make this change to each new version of Subscribe2, could this be made a configuration option in the GUI?

    Thanks again, this is a great plugin

  55. Hi.

    The second post is an update to the first one, still not working.

    Thanks for the answer (also in advance for the next one ;-))

  56. Hi there, great plugin, but (😉 ) is it possible, that it is not sending E-Mails if the timestamp is changend. Sometimes, I do write articles, and tell them, they will be seen next week friday😉 But I do not get a eMail about this entries. Bug or Feature?!?😉
    Regards
    Marcel

  57. Weird… where is my first post?! so dear admin delete all I have written. I was complaining about timestamp without reading further comments…

  58. The resending issue was fixed with the development version. Not sure what you changed, but I love it🙂

    I have long since given up on the widget working for me. I have never been able to see it as an option in the widget area since WP 2.x.

  59. Hi. Yes, it seems that wp-db-backup is doing fine… but suscribe2 is not. I’m now installing wp-cron to see if S2 works out. I hope that this wp-cron not interfere with the actual pseudo-cron of WP2.3.

    I will brief to you if it works or don’t (the schedule to weekly mails ends tonight).

    Thx

  60. No, S2 not working with wp-cron either. There is some configuration i’m missing? It’s strange that post to post works fine, but not weekly or daily… Thanks

  61. Jeremy,

    I don’t know if this will fix your problem, but I was having issues with the widget in an earlier version and created a different version of it…you can check it out by clicking on my name to find it on my site or clicking on “Ken Litscher’s Sidebar Solution” in the sidebar above…hope it helps.

  62. Does this plugin allow you to NOT send email notification on ALL posts? Can I limit the announcements to a specific category or even to specific posts?

  63. Gabriel,

    I’m not sure what’s happening for you if wp-cron appears to be working. Try setting Subscrib2 with a short digest interval and see if any emails send through the day – note you need to have made a post for it to work.

  64. Drop History,

    You can exclude certain categories from generating notifications in Options-> Subscribe2. The other alternative is to deactivate the plugin while making a post and then re-activate it again after.

  65. Hello, I recently upgraded to WP 2.3 and Subscribe2 4.0. Im using a smtp email plugin and In order to make subscribe2 work I have to change your @mail() calls to @wp_mail(). Is there any reason for this change from previous versions??

  66. Kyle,

    I moved to using the direct php mail() function as the wp_mail() function was messing up my headers and blocking the sending of emails for some users.

  67. Hi.

    Well…something wrong is happening.

    Before, the mails was sent perfectly with the “per post” option (but not working with any other type of digest).
    Now, I set up the options to “per post email” again… and i’m the only one that receive the messages. I’ve 3 accounts of my own (1 test in Yahoo, 2 admins with mails within the site), and only the main account (that one that published the posts) gets the notification.

    Besides, I recibe 2 mails: 1 with the full post and another with an excerpt. Change from “Plain text – excerpt” or “HTML” doesn’t change anything (i keep receiving the same type of notifications). Neither changing the ‘send email from’ from ‘author’ or ‘blog admin’.

    I must say that I have everything right (people suscribed and confirmed through the links or who manually get the suscription, widget working, confirmations sent, administration on S2 without problems, post without passwords, not excluded categories, etc.). I do not have any clue why itsn’t working…

    Thks again.

  68. Oh, now i’ve disabled the wp-cron, same results (no one received the notification, but me twice, one full and one excerpt for post)

  69. Thanks for the quick answer. It’s great to be able to exclude categories.

    I just tested the plugin today and I have another couple questions.

    I’m using this in conjunction with WBP-Paypal and I have members at various “levels”. Is there any way to see who my post email went out to? (complete list or active/inactive members…)

    Also, does a registered user have to opt in to the email notifications or do they go out automatically by default?

    Thanks for your help!

  70. Gabriel,

    Subscribe2 can send out 3 different types of email, if you have a subscriber you will get a copy of the email – this is why you get more than one email.

    The issue you are desribing with you getting the email but none of your subscribers indicates a problem with your server and it’s handling of BCC headers in emails. Please check this with your host.

  71. Drop History,

    You can see which registered users are subscriber to each category in Mnage->Subscribers.

    Have a look in Options->Subscribe2 to see how you can handle registering users, you can choose to autosubscriber them, give them a choice or not bother.

  72. Ok, i’ll check it out with the hoster. But it is posible to receive the mails in the way I am? (one in excerpt mode, one full post, in any kind of option than I choose?)

  73. Hi all !

    I have the same problem as Gabriel, I set up the options to “per post email” and HTML but my subscribers receive an e-mail without the images which are on my post or HTML’s link whereas the blog’s admin receive an e-mail with html and images. I don’t understand the problem? Could you help me, please ? Thanks.

    Sam

  74. Hi

    All works fine, many thanks for this excellent plugin.

    Except: When the page “Subscription Confirmation” shows up, its crambles the texts in the header.

    What’s the problem?

  75. Ken,

    I came across your version in my attempts to fix the widget issue and unfortunately it didn’t do it for me. I have gone the route of turning off all other plugins, etc., so I am really perplexed as to what I have in my configuration that is causing it not to work. For now I just have a dedicated page and a widget that links to it. I may give it a try here again in the near future and will see if your version with the latest updates ends up working. Thanks.

  76. tks for the reply – another problem:

    my hosting provider bluehost only allows 500 emails an hour, but my subscribers list is bigger.

    bluehost is not willing to extend that limit – is there a programming code to adjust the plugin to send hourly batches of lets say each 250 emails?

    if not: what solution do you suggest?

    bluehost regommended dada-mail, but the subscribe2-plugin is really great.

  77. BangkokDan,

    There is no time based choking in the plugin, you could try using PEAR::Mail_queue if you know your way around PHP and databases. I tried this but ended up moving to a VPS solution in the end.

  78. tks admin.

    because subscribe2 is a php-based mail solution, i understand its sending of emails is quite slow.

    if one would send out each single emails with (let’s say 500 single, not batched emails) how long would that take? more than an hour? would that be a “workaround”?

    and, if i have to migrate the emails, where are they hidden in subscribe2? couldnt find them in any file …

    many thanks again – bd

    by the way, what VPS would you suggest?

  79. Hi.

    The hosting says that they are not problems (neither with their host or my domain). The only ‘glitch’ is that for antispam measures, they limit to 200 mails per hour (500 BCC max). But my suscribers (myself and test included) ar 9 so far. I don’t see where is the problem. Maybe if i change to @wp_mail() (like other user says) the problem will be fixed? It’s the only plugin that i can’t make it work yet.

    Txs

  80. BangkokDan,

    PHP email sending can be slower than say SMTP but it’s not that slow.

    Setting subscribe2 to send single emails would bring the publication process in WordPress to a grinding halt though and would probably bring about a timeout on your server.

    Subscribe2 sends the emails in the mail() function and hooks into the Publish process with the publish() function.

    As for VPS, I’m with HostICan (link in my side bar) so far I can have no complaints.

  81. Gabriel,

    It’s worth tring changing mail() to wp_mail() and see if that helps. The limits your host are imposing should not be a problem for the low number of subscribers you have but if you have continued problems, have them check the server logs.

  82. another one:

    sometimes, posting a new topic, i do not want to send out emails.

    is there an option to NOT send emails when a new topic is posted?

    such as a change of command in the subscribe2.php file?

  83. BangkokDan,

    Yo can either deactivate the plugin while you make the posting or you can assign it to a category that does not generate notifications – an excluded category in Options->Subscribe2.

  84. Hi.

    Well, not lucky changing to @wp_mail() either. A new error comes up when i click the link to confirm a new subscription: “Fatal error: Call to undefined function: wp_mail() in /public_html/wp-content/plugins/subscribe2/subscribe2.php on line 691”

    I’ve exhausted all possible solutions (without studying advanced PHP, lol). It seems that S2 refuses to work only with me…

    Thanks anyway for the help you gave me these past days.
    Regards

  85. Hola…
    I’m trying to upgrade from the older version of the plugin, but when I upload the files per the instructions, it doesn’t show up in my plugins list.
    Any ideas?

  86. Benjamin,

    Which older version are you upgrading from? What version of WordPress? Have you tried deleting all the old files and then uploading the new set fresh?

  87. 1. Version immediately previous (I forget the number, but it asked me to upgrade when I upgraded my WP install)
    2. WP 2.3.1
    3. Yes, I deleted the two files you recommended in the upgrade instructions. Would deleting everything erase my subscriber list?

  88. Benjamin,

    Your subscribers list is stored in a MySQL table so FTP deleting files won’t erase the list. Try removing the entire Subscribe2 folder and upload a new copy. Get a fresh copy of Subscribe2 from the server too as your download may be corrupt.

  89. Got it. I also was uploading the whole .zip contents too, which meant I had a folder structure looking like plugins/subscribe2/subscribe2/

    Thanks for your help, and for an awesome plugin!

  90. Hello,

    Great plugin. It seems to work well on my page. I am still running 2.3.3 but will upgrade tomorrow (I just made a post and have to let it run).

    One question. When I submit a post I have to leave it running all night to guarantee emails are sent because there is no status bar. The page says “Waiting for http://www.zaneperry.com” while its running. I have let the page run over 10 hours and eventually I just assume all emails have gone (I only have a hundred or so subscribers) before closing down the page.

    Is there any way to implement a progress meter to watch the emails go out? Maybe in a future version? Other then that great product.

  91. Zane,

    One the page is published and you are returned to the WordPress post page the emaisl should have been generated. There is sadly no way I can implement a progress bar as individual data are not returned to PHP from the mail program on the server.

Comments are closed.