Subscribe2 3.5

Version 3.5 of the Plugin is now available for download.

This version is for WordPress 2.1.x and WordPress 2.2.x users only! This version has been tested on WordPress 2.1.3 and 2.2.

For users of WordPress 2.0.x, please download Version 2.19 of Subscribe2.

This version contains the following improvements:

  • Fixed a bug in the upgrade function that was messing up the options settings
  • Updated the include.php file to preset recently introduced option settings

If you use this plugin make a donation to support future development!

Download Version 3.5, recommended for users of WordPress 2.1.1 and above.

To install correctly:

  1. Deactivate your exisiting Subscribe2 Plugin
  2. Use FTP software to delete the old plugin and upload the new version
  3. Activate the new version of the plugin

98 thoughts on “Subscribe2 3.5

  1. v2.3.5 is somehow missing a few categories under the “excluded categories” list (i.e., it’s showing some categories, but not all). This bug was present in 2.3.4, but this worked in an older version back with WP 2.0. I tried to track this down in the code, but I can’t figure out where $_POST[‘categories’] comes from.

  2. Is it 2.3.5 or 3.5 because the plugin page lists 2.19 as the latest plugin. I am using WP 2.2 and my plugin version says 2.3.5. Is that the correct one? Thanks.

  3. Subscribe2.3.5 is for WordPress 2.1.x and above.

    The extra 2 always causes comfusion – I’ll update the directory names in the SVN removing the “2” tonight and see if that clears things up🙂

  4. I removed the previous version before installing 3.5. When I go to activate the plugin, it fails with– Plugin could not be activated because it triggered a fatal error.

    I’m running 2.2.

  5. I’m going through a bug. Since I installed subscribe2 plugin, every time I write or modify a post, I get a php error :

    Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 16777216 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 322253 bytes) in /[…]/web/blog/wp-includes/cache.php on line 48

    If I desactivate Subscribe2 plugin, it doesn’t occur.

    The error doesn’t impede the posting (database is modified).

    Any idea ?

  6. Thanks for getting back. I did put it in the plugins directory. I was going to try another 2.2 blog to see if it happens again. Maybe I should disable other plugins and see if it happens because of some other plugin.

  7. I commented last time about getting a blank page even after pasting the code. I did use the subscribe 2 button and did it again to be sure, and it’s still blank. I uploaded the new version (3.5) and it’s still a blank page. What am I doing wrong?

  8. Kim,

    The token is in correctly but you need a blank line before and after it so it gets wrapped in paragraph tags.

    Try using the CODE editor or turning off the Rich Text Editor and amkig sure that your page code looks like:

    <p><!–subscribe2–></p>

  9. Psykotik,

    Sorry about that – Akismet was being a little over zealous!

    I’m not sure why you are seeing this error. What version of WordPress and Subscribe 2 are you using? Any other plugins active?

  10. Jack,

    Sorry, missed your comment as it was tagged as spam by Akismet!

    Version 2.0 of WordPress dealt with requests for categories in a totally different way to 2.1+ so the code is dramatically different in this respect.

    Are you using 3.5 on a WordPress 2.1 or 2.2 blog? If you are, where are you seeing the problem, Options or Users menus? What exactly are you seeing, categories in there that shouldn’t be or ones missing that should be there?

    For degugging you are really looking at the function called display_category_form.

  11. 3.5 worked fine on a clean install of wp2.2. I went back to the original wp2.2 site having troubles and disabled all plugins. 3.5 installed fine. Now, the wp-polls plugin won’t activate. Not sure if there’s a conflict or not.

    That said, it was an easy choice to keep your plugin.

  12. I did some additional testing. After activating 3.5, Akismet activation failed with the dreaded white-screen. I also tested another poll system; I got the same result as I did with Akismet. When I de-activated 3.5, Akismet and PowPoll installed without issue.

    I hope that’s helpful.

  13. Great job on this version 3.5. All is working wonderfully, except it seems the HTML emails are being sent in plain text so of course the email contans all the tags, etc. Is there a fix for this? I did a search but didn’t find anything. I appreciate any assistance you can offer.

  14. Scott,

    Something strange is going on with your install. I haven’t had any problems with Subscribe2 and Akismet.

    It my be something to do with the sandboxing of plugins – but you shouldn’t get a dreaded white screen now as WordPress will not activate a plugin that causes a fatal error.

    Try deleting and re-uploading all the WordPress 2.2 core files and see if that helps.

  15. Herb,

    I think this is down to the mail() wrapper used in WordPress having had PHPMailer integrated into it in version 2.2.

    A workaround is to replace the instances of @wp_mail with @mail in the Subscribe2 code.

  16. First:

    I’m going through a bug. Since I installed subscribe2 plugin, every time I write or modify a post, I get a php error :

    Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 16777216 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 322253 bytes) in /[…]/web/blog/wp-includes/cache.php on line 48

    Second:

    I’m not sure why you are seeing this error. What version of WordPress and Subscribe 2 are you using? Any other plugins active?

    Third:

    I’m using WordPress 2.2 and Subscribe2 3.5.
    I use a huge number of plugins : check this list.
    It may be related to my host, which has some php limitations. Both time and size of script are limited.

  17. Psykotik,

    My biggest tip would be to try Google Sitemap Beta – it is masssively optimised and reduces the hit on the server to a massive extent.

    Give this a try and let me know if it helps.

  18. I was very sceptic about your solution… but you were absolutely right : using last google sitemap’s release did the trick.

  19. Sorry, I pushed the button before a “thank you very much”. Your work is wonderful; your plugin should be integrated by default into wordpress !

  20. Thanks for the workaround. I’ll give it a shot.

    BTW: I agree with psykotik, your plugin shoule be integrated by default into wordpress. Great job! Thanks again.

  21. Hi there,

    I can’t seem to get subscribe2 to deliver updates to me. I’ve tried three separate email accounts on multiple computers …

    The weird thing is that some of my subscribers are getting the updates and some aren’t, and when I use subscribe2 to send a regular email notice to all subscribers through my site, it works fine….

    What am I doing wrong? I disabled podPress and deleted it from my server hoping that would work. Could another plugin be messing it up?

    Thanks,
    Josh

  22. Josh,

    What you are describing sounds very much like your emails are being blocked by the server setup – check this out with your host and try some of the solutions already detail on this site.

  23. Hey,

    I’m having a bit of a problem … the S2 form woun’t activate.
    Check this page: http://www.zeno.ro/contact
    The Plugin is active, but i still get in the code just the .

    This is my plugin list:
    Akismet 2.0.2
    AutoExpire 0.1
    AutoMeta 0.8
    Breadcrumb Navigation XT 1.7
    Break Out Of Frames 0.3
    Category Order 2.0.0
    Dashboard Options 1.4.3
    Facebook Photos 0.2
    Feed Control 1.0
    Feed Copyrighter 0.1
    Flickr Photo Gallery 0.91
    Force Word Wrapping 1.0.0
    HideThis 1.0.1
    IImage Panorama 1.0
    Maintenance Mode 2.3
    Organizer 1.1.0
    PJW WordPress Version Check 1.00
    Search Pages 2.0
    Search Reloaded 2.9
    Subscribe2 2.3.5
    Vril’s Transparent PNG Fix 1.3
    WordPress Database Backup 2.1.2
    WP-dTree 2.2
    WP-ExtremeVideo 2.9.3 beta
    WP-Scriptaculous 1.6.1
    WP Wetfloor 1.6-a

    Thanks a lot!

  24. Zeno,

    Looking at the HTML source in your contact page you have the opening <p> with an align=”left” attribute. Remove the attribute and it should work fine.

  25. I successfully installed it but when I try to access options/subscribe2 it cames subscribers page. The same happens at Manage/subscribers and Write/email subscribers. thanks a lot for the plugin!

  26. Irene,

    This is sometimes a problem on servers that are not configured to deal with / and \ very well. Try manually typing in the correct URL to the page as per the link and see what happens.

  27. Hi, i’ve download the new of this plugin and the wordpress version 2.2.
    Now in Wp control panel –> presentation –> widget there isn’t the subscribe2 widget.
    how can i be able to let it appear?
    do i have to copy part of the code?

  28. Hello,
    First of all thanks for the great plugin, it is much appreciated. I do have a small issue I can not seem to resolve. I am using WordPress 2.2 and version 3.5 of your plugin.

    When a subscriber tries to get to their subscription page they will receive the error:
    Fatal error: Cannot redeclare class s2class in /home/voxurypo/public_html/wp-content/plugins/subscribe2/subscribe2.php on line 53

    It appears that this may be due to the fact that it tries to send them to the URL “http://voxurypopuli.com/wp-admin/users.php?page=subscribe2/subscribe2.php” which only admins have rights to. If I click on the Profile tab and then click back on the Subscriptions tab, it comes up fine since it is now correctly at the URL “http://voxurypopuli.com/wp-admin/profile.php?page=subscribe2/subscribe2.php”

    I tested my theory by making the subscriber an admin…and it worked fine. Any suggestions?

    Thanks Again.

  29. Let me start by saying I love this plugin and it works great! I am also using postie, which allows me to email in posts with photos. I was wondering if there is a way to include photos in the email that goes out to subscribers? Many bloggers use photos, and its a shame their email subscribers won’t see the full story with the photos.

    Thanks~

  30. Daniel,

    There is no way currently to embed images in the oot going email but any images that are referenced in your post will be linked back in the HTML email.

    Now that PHPMailer is part of the WordPress core this is something I intend to look at when I find the time.

  31. Thanks.
    I follow your suggestion, but the problem is the subscription page.
    A clarification: The plug in version 2.2 worked fine in the same blog.
    If anybody can give an answer… thanks a lot.

  32. Irene,

    Another user, Eric, is having the same probelm and has helped me narrow down my bug hunting. It appears to be something to do with the link using users.php instead of profile.php for certain classes of users.

    Bear with me while I do some checking, at present the plugin is checking for certain admin rights and creating the link based on these rights. Something here seems to be different in WordPress 2.2 compared to 2.1.

  33. Irene,

    I’ve reviewed the code and tested a new user as both Editor and Subscriber roles. The link created for me for both of these roles is to the profile.php page and works fine. My log in with an administrator role links to user.php correctly too.

    Are you using any other plugins that link in with user roles and capabilities? Also, have you tried clearing your browser cache?

  34. No the token still wont show up in the default visual editor to insert it at the bottom of the post.

    However, I downloaded a new visual editor and it is in the tool bar.

    It has a conflict with..

    nextGen Image Gallery on the toolbar.
    http://alexrabe.boelinger.com/

    I pretty sure about this because in the default visual editor nextGen appears and subscribe2 does not. In the new visual editor yours appears and nextGen does not.

    I have been just entering the code manually for nextGen but it may happen with other plug-ins that I am not using.

    Thanks and great plug-in.

  35. Btw…Can I change the look of the widget anywhere. I want it to match the style of my other sidebars but I dont see a style sheet with the plugin.

  36. Hi,

    I was using the plugin without problems some days. I just deleted/renamed some categories and Suscribe2 somehow missing a some categories in the options pages.

    I use Wp 2.2 and Suscrib2 2.3.5.

    How can I do to solve it? How can I do a clean install? De-active and Activate does not work.

    Thank you very much.

  37. Hi! This seems like a great plugin, I just wish I could install it.

    My problem is that after it is installed, the entire WordPress installation dies😦 I’m running the latest version of WP and the latest version of your plugin. Totally blank. Nothing.

  38. Elio,

    Have you tried clearing your browser cache to fix the Visual Editor problems? Also, you can style the Widget by defining a ‘search’ div style in you theme CSS.

  39. Nick,

    When you say latest version of WordPress do you mean the latest stable (2.2), the latest Release Candidate (2.2.1) or the trunk (2.3)?

    Also, are you running other plugins?

  40. SGBMad,

    Have a look in subscribe2.php file on line 1660, this is where the categories stored by WordPress are collected.
    After this line enter the following lines of code:

    echo “”;
    echo $all_cats;
    echo “”;

    Then visit the admin pages and you should see a bunch of text printed about your categories. Are your ‘missing’ categories in that list?

  41. Have you thought about separating the singleton class into the adapter class pattern?

    It would be much easier to manage if you did so, but do email me if you want some suggestions.

  42. No, the missing categories continues missing. Appear this: “��Array��”

    I have entered these lines after:

    $all_cats = get_categories(‘type=post&hide_empty=1&hierarchical=0’);

    Thanks😉

  43. Hmm, the solution is quite simple.

    $all_cats = get_categories(’type=post&hide_empty=0&hierarchical=0′);

    I do believe.

  44. SGBMad,

    Sorry, typo in the code, it should have been:

    echo “”;
    print_r($all_cats);
    echo “”;

    I’m not sure what DarkDragon is suggesting will work becaase the last time I looked into the WordPress get_categories function it didn’t support hide_empty=0 if type=post.

  45. DarkDragon,

    What do you mean by adaptor class? Is that the same as an Abstract Class? The only reason I ask is that WordPress needs to operate in PHP4 and PHP5.

  46. Hello!
    I like your plugin very much since my subscribers are not very RSS-fit.
    Now I want them to be notified of comments too. Is this possible? Thank you!

  47. The Adapter Pattern is using multiple classes with a single API class. The work I have done current has been to separate the Email, the Form, and other functionality out into their own PHP 4 and PHP 5 classes. I also was able to start creating a “Mode” Interface to where the user would be able to eventually choose whether or not they want default (what Subscribe2 is now), whether only the public subscribers (non-registered users) get notifications and whether only registered subscribers get notifications.

    My requirements currently with the Subscribe2 plugin is that I really only need for public subscribers and have little use for registered users to get notifications. Since the plugin only allows for registered users to change which categories they receive, I also need some way to easily add that functionality and get it to work.

    All of this currently would only take a few hours:

    Create new table for storing email cat_ID rows
    Update Public Subscribe form to display all categories (done)
    Insert or update new table for the email

    Trust me, I have mentioned that it would be easier if we just allowed for registered members. With the site I’m working on, it is a requirement that everything be public and easy as possible, which includes not allowing access to the WordPress User panel.

    —————

    The reason I discussed the adapter pattern is that, it would be easier for me (and others) to find, edit, and add functionality. A large singleton class that does everything doesn’t fit the bill when it comes to that requirement.

    Now, I have started and managed to successfully get some of the functionality split out into other classes (installer, upgrader, and the ButtonSnap). I’m currently working on get the other separations to work and will let you know how well that goes.

    I don’t know if you would like the changes or would accept them, but I would like to at least give you the Installer, Upgrader, and ButtonSnap. The other changes, well based on the license, I would have to make them available anyway. I was just wondering that when I get them to work, would you like to take a look at it?

    I don’t want to have to make available Subscribe3 package that only has a few additions to the overall code.

  48. DarkDragon,

    I agree that it would be silly to branch the code for no good reason and I would be happy to look at your code.

    I don’t profess to being a PHP expert, this is not my day job and it doesn’t pay any bills so help is gratefully received. I’ll email you off list and when you feel ready please do share back your code.

  49. I would love to have a simple subscription section in my sidebar or comment area to cover my entire blog instead of limiting this functionality to individual posts. Is this possible?

  50. When I installed it, every registered user was auto-subscribed. I can’t change the subscription state as any user – if I try at wp-admin/users.php?page=subscribe2/subscribe2.php, the state reverts. The check box toggles. I notice there are no entries in the subscribe2 table unless I add an unregistered user as a subscriber.

  51. Gessel,

    Have a look in Manage – >Subscribers at the Bulk Management panel – you can bulk manage Registered User subscriptions from here.

    Before you do that though, look in the drop down list filter in the same page – it will tell you how many registered users are subscribed to each category.

  52. Thank you Administrator,

    An excellent page, but does not work for me as expected. For example, I can add a subscription in the “Subscribe Address” pane, which becomes a confirmed subscription in the middle column of the “Subscribers” pane, which I can -> to uncomfirmed and then “delete”. Each of these steps creates the expected entries in the MySQL database.

    All registered users (7 of them) are listed as “registered subscribers” in the Left column. I can’t move them or delete them in the “Subscribers” pane. Selecting all categories in the “Categories” pane and clicking “unsubscribe” does not seem to unsubscribe any. If I go to “Users” tab, “Subscriptions” subtab and change “Notification Settings” to “No” and click “Update Preferences,” the window refreshes, the lovely color fade “Subscription preferences updated.” banner appears, but the “Notification Settings” is back to “Yes.” This happens logged in as several users (not just admin). It happens in two installations: one is running “registered only” and one is not. I’ve noted that “registered only” seems to block outgoing email, though fixing subscription prefs comes first…

    Thank you for an excellent piece of code.

  53. Gessel,

    Registered user will still appear in that list but FILTER the users on your categories to see who is subscribe to individual categories. If you see no categories in the list then you have no registered users registered to get email notification for that category.

    The preferences for Users are stored in the Usermeta table. Are you saying the Manage->Subscribers doesn’t work? And are you also saying that only having registered users means emails don’t send?

  54. Thanks for the nice plugin!
    However, without coming back to your site here, trying to find the reason why the subscribe form is not visible on my page on my blog, it would not run for me.
    I had the same problem as Kim (comment #8) and almost wanted to deactivate the plugin. Would be great if you could put the solution with the blank lines, (the needed paragraph), which you wrote in your third comment, into the readme file or into the installation steps.

  55. Sir,

    Thanks for your work on this plugin, but it’s currently sending only to registered users and not all users. Is there a setting I’m missing? I’m on WP 2.2 running your latest version of your plugin.

    clp

  56. Hi. I have checked all of those, and yet I am still perplexed. The default in the drop down on Manage – Subscribers is registered users. Is that correct?

    Also, a feature request would be an option to turn on/off receiving e-mails when someone subscribes. I have to manually edit the plugin each upgrade.

    Thanks for your work. I have a client that is using this and needs it to work. I’ll happily donate $ to you if this thing can run properly.

  57. Chris,

    Registered users is the default on Manage->Subscribers.

    I’ll look at adding your option request in the next release.

    Finally, have you checked with the hosting provider about outgoing emails. If they are sending for Registered users but not Public users then there is most probably an issue in the server configuration.

  58. Hi,

    Thanks for the plugin. Ot all seems to install properly, but I cannot get the subscribe page to work. I have put the token onto the page (www.studiokanaan.com?page_id=16) but no form appears.

    Also no button in the quick bar….

  59. Hi Administrator,

    I am using your great plugin at my site, but I am getting a problem
    I installed the plugin Subscribe2 and everything worked ok, I activated the plugin and cool, I checked my list of subscribers and fine… It is working when I am logged out I can see the Subscription form at the page I set as subscribe page. but when I log in I see a message that tell me
    You may manage your subscription options from your profile. when i click on profile it carries to my admin account to my USERS- Subscriptions and give me a message telling
    Fatal error: Cannot redeclare class s2class in /home/seorepre/public_html/labriegosencillo/wp-content/plugins/subscribe2/subscribe2.php on line 57

    Can you help

    can you have a glance:
    http://www.labriegosencillo.com/suscribase/

    I really will apreciate

    goro

  60. Visskiss,

    The content generated by ?page_id=16 is totally blank. Ensure that the token is in the code for your page – if you are using the rich text editor flip to the Code view and make sure it’s there.

    Secondly, are you using other plugins that alter the content on-the-fly? Have you tried de-activating all other plugins to see if it works then?

  61. Goro,

    This is a recurrent glitch that I can’t seem to figure out. Is your link pointing to users.php or profile.php?

    One possible workaround is to hard code the links into the code. Near the top looks for where the following are defined:

    $this->use_profile_users
    $this->use_profile_admin

    Replace these (respectively) with:

    “<p>” . __(‘You may manage your subscription options from your ‘, ‘subscribe2’) . “<a href=\”http://www.labriegosencillo.com/wp-admin/profile.php?page=subscribe2/subscribe2.php\”>profile</a>.</p>”;

    “<p>” . __(‘You may manage your subscription options from your ‘, ‘subscribe2’) . “<a href=\”http://www.labriegosencillo.com/wp-admin/users.php?page=subscribe2/subscribe2.php\”>profile</a>.</p>”;

  62. I am using WP 2.2, Subscribe2 3.5, and Event Calendar 3.1.1._rc1 (http://wpcal.firetree.net/) and have run into a problem that I hope you can help me with. I have Event Calendar adding posts to a Shows category which I have excluded via the Subscribe2 plugin because I don’t want to bother subscribers with an email every time the band adds a show. However, when I imported the band’s old mailing list as registered users (via Dagon Design Import Users 1.1 plugin – http://www.dagondesign.com/articles/import-users-plugin-for-wordpress/) the excluded category was ignored and all members were sent emails for posts to the Shows category. I have also tested registering a new user by hand (not importing) and they are automatically subscribed to all categories – even the excluded one. I do have the plugin set to auto-subscribe new users registering with your blog via the options screen, could this be the cause? If yes, then why is it ignoring the excluded category? Is there anyway to enforce the Subscribe2 excluded categories when registering and importing registered users?

  63. I think because my original post of this comment included links to the plugins I’m using, it ended up getting lost waiting for moderation, so I am reposting it without those links:

    I am using WP 2.2, Subscribe2 3.5, and Event Calendar 3.1.1._rc1 and have run into a problem that I hope you can help me with. I have Event Calendar adding posts to a Shows category which I have excluded via the Subscribe2 plugin because I don’t want to bother subscribers with an email every time the band adds a show. However, when I imported the band’s old mailing list as registered users (via Dagon Design Import Users 1.1 plugin) the excluded category was ignored and all members were sent emails for posts to the Shows category. I have also tested registering a new user by hand (not importing) and they are automatically subscribed to all categories – even the excluded one. I do have the plugin set to auto-subscribe new users registering with your blog via the options screen, could this be the cause? If yes, then why is it ignoring the excluded category? Is there anyway to enforce the Subscribe2 excluded categories when registering and importing registered users?

  64. Elizabeth,

    I must admit that I don’t use the excluded categoires function myself. I guess that’s one of the issues with making a plugin available for others and then keeping eveyone happy by adding features I don’t use🙂

    Anyway, I’ll look into this issue on my test install and see if I can replicate it and then provide a fix!

    [UPDATE]

    I’ve looked at the code dealing with auto subscriptions and indeed it does ignore excluded categories. I’ll attempt a fix for this in the next release.

  65. Thank you very much. I hope that you will be able to fix the problem as working around it will be difficult with over 600 subscribers. I keep having to go to Manage > Subscribers and unsub from that one category we don’t want anyone to get but at least I have a work-around until you do your magic.

    In the meantime, I have run into another problem and although I’ve searched, I cannot find any reference to it or a fix. Last night a new category was added and that category is not showing on either the Users > Subscriptions > Subscribed Categories or the Options > Subscribe2 > Excluded Categories sections. I thought perhaps it was because the category was so new it didn’t have any posts to it so I made a private post (so there was no chance of an email to subscribers being generated) but still the category doesn’t show so I cannot control it as far as your plugin is concerned. The category does show on the Write > Write Post and the Manage > Categories and the like so WordPress does know it exists.

  66. Elizabeth,

    Your new problem is down to limitations in the core WordPress category functions. The category will only show up when it contains a post (non-private).

    I’ve also cooked up a fix to your first problem – do you want to test the code for me?

  67. Regarding my new problem, thank you for the explanation. I will work around the limitation in WordPress that it insists on hiding my new categories!

    Regarding the fix for the excluded category problem, I will gladly be your guinea pig! Send the code whenever you can.

  68. I’m still struggling with the problem that only some of my subscribers get mail. (Using WP2.2 with S2.3.5, with BCCLIMIT=30.) I finally got my hands on the headers from one of the lucky few that did receive the mail, and I think I know the problem, just not what actually causes it — the BCC header is malformed. I think that something inserts extra colons in the header, so that it goes like this:

    Bcc: foo@bar.com,:
    foo2@barf.com,:
    last@one.com

    (In case that gets altered while being posted, each email address, except for the last one, is followed by a comma — correctly — and then a spurious colon before the newline.)

    I’m betting on wp_mail being the cause, but why isn’t anybody else seeing this?

  69. Yeah, I just made that change, but now I get to wait for the blog author (another person) to actually want to post something.🙂 Since I’ve set BCCLIMIT, there’s really only one wp_mail that needs to be replaced, right?

  70. Well, whaddayaknow. That fixed it. Sounds like a bug in wp_mail. Of course, wp_mail has changed some more in trunk WP, so I don’t know whether to report a bug… but I’m now a happy camper. Thanks for all your help.

  71. Jack,

    I think you should open a ticket. There appear to be several issues in wp_mail() after the introduction of PHPMailer into the core code.

    Lodging of tickets will mean a fix, reversion or change so the more the better!

  72. Hi there,

    I’ve been using this for a while on http://www.thestonewailer.com and one thing I’ve noticed under a dummy subscriber login is that I can’t find anywhere where my subscribers can go (i.e. dashboard, or profile) to unsubscribe to my weekly digests, which I use Subscribe2 to handle.

    Also, the weekly digest that I use Subscribe2 to send works great, but the email form that goes with it doesn’t have an “unsubscribe me” option at the bottom. Is there a way of including this?

    If not, it is no big deal, but I’d love to at least provide a footer in my emails that explains how my blog users can login and unsubscribe themselves…

    Thanks,
    Josh

  73. Josh,

    Look under Users->Subscriptions and you should find a profile section to subscribe or unsubscribe to digest emails.

    The email that goes out is based on the Templates in Options->Subscribe2. If you want an unsubscribe message add it into your template.

  74. Thanks for subscribe2!

    Just wanted to note here for other users as I couldn’t find it documented anywhere else.

    Received the error: “”Plugin could not be activated because it triggered a fatal error” when I attempted to activate subscribe2 3.6 on wp 2.2.1.

    I concluded that there was some conflict with another plugin: podPress (http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/podpress/) as, when podPress was deactivated, subscribe2 activated successfully.

  75. 72quadrant,

    The page you’ve linked doesn’t contain the token. Enter it manually in the Code editor or change to the non Rich Text Editor to enter it.

    The token is:

    <!--subscribe2-->

  76. 72quadrat,

    I think you must be running another plugin that strips the token before my plugin can replace it! It’s certainly not in the source for the page you linked to above.

    Try deactivating all other plugins to see if Subscribe2 works when it’s the only plugin that is active.

  77. Hi, I can’t find the option of sending out the mailing list on a weekly basis instead of post-by-post. How do I do this?

Comments are closed.