Subscribe2 3.4

Version 3.4 of the Plugin is now available for download.

This version is for WordPress 2.1.x and WordPress 2.2.x users only! This version has been tested on WordPress 2.1.3 and 2.2.

For users of WordPress 2.0.x, please download Version 2.18 of Subscribe2.

This version contains the following improvements:

  • QuickTag button now displays a Marker! (HUGE thanks to Raven!)
  • Fix for excluded categories in User Menu
  • BCCLIMIT typo corrected in Mail function
  • Call to translation files moved to avoid call to undefined function
  • Options added to send mails for pages and password protected posts
  • Option added to display subscription checkbox in WordPress Register screen
  • Small typo and layout amendments

If you use this plugin make a donation to support future development!

Download Version 3.4, recommended for users of WordPress 2.1.1 and above.

Download from mirror site.

To install correctly:

  1. Deactivate your exisiting Subscribe2 Plugin
  2. Use FTP software to delete the old plugin and upload the new version
  3. Activate the new version of the plugin

41 thoughts on “Subscribe2 3.4

  1. Anne,

    Public subscribers can be deleed from the database in Manage->Subscribers. Registered Subscribers can manage their own subscriptions but as WordPress registered users they can be deleted in Users->Authors&Users.

  2. Thanks🙂

    Another thing; I’m assuming the token inserts a subscribe/unsubscribe form? I followed the directions, created the page, changed the page ID, and the page is blank.

  3. Hello

    Just installed subscribe2 V3.4 on Word Press 2.2 and get the following message upon registering new person at http://www.go2malawi.com/blog/wp-login.php?action=register

    WordPress database error: [Table ‘go2malaw_wordpress.wp_subscribe2′ doesn’t exist]
    SELECT active FROM wp_subscribe2 WHERE email=’myemailaddress@googlemail.com’

    Warning: Cannot modify header information – headers already sent by (output started at /home/go2malaw/public_html/blog/wp-includes/wp-db.php:133) in /home/go2malaw/public_html/blog/wp-includes/pluggable.php on line 329

    I am hoping it is a pilot error, IE, my inexperience with WP. Could you help guide me?

  4. It turns out I was suffering the “Beth problem” too. My first registered user has just contacted me, begging me to stop clogging up his inbox with test messages.

    However after trying the solution provided, it seems that some of the subscribers received the message and some didn’t. The server threw up a SQL error message that I have sent you via your contact form.

    To answer your question I have the following plugins:

    Admin Drop Menus, Akismet, BadBehavior, Contact Form II, Custom Smileys, Event Calendar, Site Statistics, Subscribe 2, WeatherIcon, WP-Cron, WP-PostViews and WPG2.

    I am curious as to why this should only have happened since upgrading to WP2.2. Does it handle php’s mail function differently vs previous versions? Upgrading to the latest Subscribe2 version didn’t solve it. I have never had this problem before and have been using WP since v2.0.1 and Subscribe 2 since v2.8.

  5. Anne,
    Looking at the HTML markup of your page, there is a space immediately before the token that you need to remove. Your markup is:

    <p> <!–subscribe2–></p>

    And it needs to be:

    <p><!–subscribe2–></p>

  6. Roz,

    Did you install from scratch? Can you check in phpMyAdmin and see if a table for Subscribe2 has been created?

    [UPDATE] – I found a small bug inthe code that means the table won’t be installed. You can correct this as follows:

    Look for a line in the code as follows:

    if(!mysql_query(“DESCRIBE ” . $this->public)==FALSE) { $this->install(); }

    and change it to:

    if(!mysql_query(“DESCRIBE ” . $this->public)) { $this->install(); }

  7. Leonardof,

    I’ve read the Gento site, Subscribe2 calls the load_plugin_textdomain from the Subscribe2 function which is aded as an action to init – just as Gento suggests.

    I’ve managed to activate both Gengo and Subscribe2 on WordPress 2.2 without errors.

  8. Rick,

    The reason you are seeing this with WordPress 2.2 is down to the integration of PHPMailer into the WordPress core files in this release.

    My problem is that I don’t have the time to get heavily involved in WordPress developmet and I therefore don’t know all the ins and outs of the integration. It’s also quite difficult to track down any documentation about this new addition to the core!

  9. Hi, I’m new users of Subscribe2.
    I have installed the release 3.4 on WP 2.2 but I have this problem.
    When I publish a new post no mail arrives on my test mailbox.
    But when I send a message with “Mail subscribers” the plug-in work well.
    What happens?

  10. Dantes,

    Do you have access to your server logs? If emails are being sent through one function but not another it’s worth following up with the logs or your web hosting provider.

  11. Thanks for the update.

    I was having a problem with the last version & WP 2.1.3 when my approved subscribers went over 10. I tried setting a lower BCC limit, but that didn’t help. Deploying the new version and WP 2.2 helped a little, because some subscribers got the mail. I ended up using the hack you mention here and I think all the mail is making it out now: https://subscribe2.wordpress.com/2007/05/03/bcc-header-troubleshooting/

    If it helps anyone else, my host is pair.com

  12. Hello

    Yes, I installed subscribe2 from scratch.

    Which file will I find that code in?

    Thanks.

  13. Thanks for your reply both here and by email.

    I have contacted my webhost to see if they can help and will notify you if they have any suggestions that might be useful.

  14. Kim,

    The code you pasted into the page you created is not correct, that’s why it isn’t working. Sometimes the cut and paste translates some characters.

    Insert the Subscribe2 token using the button on the QuickTags bar or type it in manually.

  15. Josip,

    Quite right, there appears to have been a problem with a commit to the SVN site😦

    Try again in 15 minutes and you should see 2.18.

  16. I’ve noticed another issue with the new version:

    I like to have the notifications go out from the blog admin, rather than the post author, but when I installed the new version, they started going out as post author again.

    I changed the setting and used the submit button at the bottom of the page and thought nothing more of it, but the next notification also went out with the post author’s info. So, I did it again. When the page comes back after clicking the submit button, the setting I just entered sticks, but when I go away to another page and then click back to the subscribe2 options page, the radio button is back to send the mail from the author of the post.

  17. eas,

    Just done some testing on my sandbox WordPress install and I can’t reproduce your issue. What versions of WordPress and Subscribe2 are you using? (I was using 2.2 and 2.3.4 respectively)

  18. Hi. thanks for looking into this:

    I’m using wp 2.2 and Subscribe2.3.4, not using WP-cache. Disabled all plugins except subscribe2 and I still have the same problem. I should note that even if I don’t return to the options page, it still ends up sending mail as the post author, so it doesn’t seem to be a matter of the browser caching the form somehow.

  19. eas,

    I can’t see any reason in the code why this would be happening and I can’t reproduce the error.

    Have a go at the following:

    Click the RESET button the return all settings to their defaults and see if the same happens. [Back up your existing setting first by opening your Subscribe2 options in a browser window and minimising it]

    If this doesn’t work, deactivate the plugin then have a look through your WordPress options table and delete any options linked with Subscribe2. Finally re-activate the plugin.

  20. I too am unable to get the options to change… they seem to take, but every visit to the options page has them back to the original/old/default setting…

    I have uninstalled/reinstalled/deleted tables several times… really odd… the options table doesnt include options for pages or password protected posts

  21. dang… hit submit too quick… those options always come up blank… wp 2.1.3

    was an upgrade, but wiped everything and installed clean…

  22. hmmm… sorry for so many comments, but continuing to dig deeper…

    doing an upgrade or a reset doesnt appear to help because the include.php file doesnt have default settings for the pages, password protected posts or email as digest…

    I must be missing something because I cant see how those ever get an initial value in the options table and thus when I update on the options page its ignored…

  23. okay, last update for the night, but every time I update the options, the subscribe options in wp_options get deleted and a new row is created with the default options… makes the option_id increment pretty fast

    whoa… in fact the the row is deleted and recreated on just about every page load on my blog

  24. okay, I lied…. one more, but I found the issue…

    This line:

    if(!mysql_query(“DESCRIBE ” . $this->public)==FALSE) { $this->install(); }

    causes the install/reinstall to run every time subcribe2 is called (a lot of times)

    change that line to:

    if(!mysql_query(“DESCRIBE ” . $this->public)) { $this->install(); }

    and all works well again… the options stick and the options table isnt delete and recreated on every call

  25. Mr Papa,

    Thanks for spotting that! I’d fixed that in my version which is why I wasn’t seeing the same behaviour. I’ll update the include.php file today andrelease 2.3.5 tonight as I think this is a pretty big bug🙂

  26. Hi Administrator and roz,

    Just to let you know that fix appears to have worked for me too – I was getting the same error message roz reported, and it has gone away after I made the change you suggested to subscribe2.php.

    Thanks! Andy

  27. Hi there!

    Thanks for the great plugin. I just did a fresh install on WP 2.2 with the latest version of Subscribe2. When I go into “manage>subscribers” Isee the following information:

    WordPress database error: [Table ‘thirmid7_wrdp1.wp_subscribe2′ doesn’t exist]
    SELECT COUNT(id) FROM wp_subscribe2 WHERE active=’1’

    WordPress database error: [Table ‘thirmid7_wrdp1.wp_subscribe2′ doesn’t exist]
    SELECT COUNT(id) FROM wp_subscribe2 WHERE active=’0’

    I have searched but can’t seem to find any documentation on this. I’d be fine creating the tables myself, but how many fields should there be?

    Does this impact the use of the plugin?

    Thanks in advance, and I apologize if my lack of a thorough understanding of php etc results in simplistic questions!

  28. David,

    This is a bug that was inadvertently introduced into Subscribe2 3.4. Try 3.5 for the fix and the table will be automatically created on install.

  29. Hello,

    For the life of me, I cannot actually seem to get to the 3.5 version via any of the links from this site. I can only find old versions on the WordPress site.

    Thanks for any help.
    Morgs

  30. I work on WordPress 2.2 with the standard editor but the menu button doesn’t appear.
    However, when I very carefully hover the cursur next the the last button to the right near the grey line seperating the menu from the input text field the status line shows the javascipt code but without the image? When I click the token is setup. The bug might be due to other (e.g. NextGen Gallery) plugins which also puts button in the menu line.

    Just wanted to let you know😉

Comments are closed.