Subscribe2 3.1 for WP 2.1

Version 3.1 of the Plugin is now available for download for WordPress 2.1.x users only!

For users of WordPress 2.0.x, please download Version 2.15 of Subscribe2.

This version contains the following improvements:

  • Amended code to use core cron functionality for future posts and digest notifications, no longer need WP-Cron
  • Improved HTML code generated for admin pages
  • Removed sending of emails for WordPress Pages
  • Fixed display issues if S2PAGE is not defined

Remaining known issues, which will be tackled in future releases, are:

  • No Subscribe2 Quicktag in the Rich Text Editor due to a TinyMCE issue with buttonsnap.php – this will be fixed ith the implementation of a WordPress hook into the menu system expected in 2.2

If you use this plugin make a donation to support future development!

Download Version 3.1, recommended for users of WordPress 2.1.1 and above.

Download from mirror site.

To install correctly:

  1. Deactivate your exisiting Subscribe2 Plugin
  2. Use FTP software to delete the old plugin and upload the new version
  3. Activate the new version of the plugin

34 thoughts on “Subscribe2 3.1 for WP 2.1

  1. Hi,

    I translated your subscribe2 plugin to Brazilian Portuguese. Would you like me to send it to you, so you could post it on your page? (I need your email).

    Thanks, Bernardo

  2. I found another issue.

    When emails are being sent out, the headers are not being added in properly.

    I noticed this when my blog posts were not arriving to people’s inboxes, and were being blocked by SPAM filters.

    The emails I recieved, contained proper “From” addresses, but the “Reply-To” addresses are all being auto generated by the server. My server, uses a non-existant address and my message is turned to SPAM.

    By specifically setting the “Reply-To” my server no longer generates the needed info and the content of the message is preserved.

    I’m not entirely sure where the best spot to add this to the plugin is, but I figured I should let you know.

    -Keep up the great work!
    –Philip

  3. My apologies, I think I may have posted too soon.

    I’ve been toying with the code, and it would appear that the error is on the web servers end, in how it handles mail it is sending out.

  4. Pingback: Subscribe2 DK version 3.1 udgivet at K2 DK

  5. The “Manage>>Subscribers” problem of not showing all registered users still seems to be an issue. I have about 12 people registered, and only 6 show up when I filter by “registered users.”

  6. Hi,

    just downloaded the latest version and changed S2PAGE and then opened the page and – no subscription form. Tried a couple of things, searched the archives here and over at WP, but I did only find an empty thread with the same issue. I’m using both Share This and Exec PHP, could this be related – I saw somewhere that the plugins cause problems in conjunction with Subscribe2.

    While already writing – the category exclusion – is it based on “in_category” or is_category, which I suppose would be problematic if a post has more than one? IE if a post is in cat1 one AND cat2 but only cat2 is blocked, will the post be emailed or not?

    Thanks for a brief reply – and congratulations for your son’s birth!

    best,
    Tobias

  7. OK, I found the problem causing the form not to appear. It works as soon as <!–subscribe2–> is not the only thing on the page. Ie, “<!–subscribe2–>” will display the form, while “<!–subscribe2–>” will not. Well, in my case at least. If that’s a general behavior, it should maybe be included in the installation readme, just in case other people want to try the code before embedding it into their design (like I did),

    I would still be grateful for an answer to the category part of my question. In my specific setup I have four main categories, “blog” categories if you will, that have their own respective subcategories. All posts belong to one main category and at least one subcategory. So I would love to allow people to subscribe to one (or, if possible, all) main categories, but not the subcatgories individually. Is that conceivable using subscribe2?

    And – just out of curiosity – why is HTML mail blocked for non-registered subscribers?

    Thanks again!

  8. ok, it looks like I can’t use code in the comments… so to paraphrase the code in the first paragraph above – [P][subscribe2][/P] will display the form while [subscribe2] without any additional markup won’t,

  9. I just tried the unsupported sidebar code – I know you don’t support this, but since you wrote you could not foresee anything strange happening with that code, I thought I’d tell you: the code loads the contents of normal post, not the form. However that could happen.

  10. I’m trying to get this plugin to work on my WP2.1.1. Whenever I activate the plugin, the admin and website doesn’t load anymore, until I delete the plugin from FTP.

    I’ve check my logs and found this…
    PHP Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /home/thebai36/public_html/beverly/wp-content/plugins/subscribe2/subscribe2.php on line 923

  11. Jason,

    I’m not sure why this is happening for you as I’ve stepped through the code that deals with user registrations and upgrades of Subscribe2 and I can’t see anything amiss.

    Are you using WordPress 2.1.3 now?

  12. Tobias,

    HTML mails are disallowed for Public users to give an incentive to register. It’s not too hard to enable for all users if you want, in fact there are comments telling how to do it on this site but it’snot something I support for this free version of the plugin. I normally suggest a paid version but I’m busy with other things at the moment. I may have an ‘off-the-peg’ HTML solution if you are interested but I can’t afford any time to tinker with code at present.

    Your sidebar issue may be down to other plugins, take a look at Ken Litschers site as he has a sidebar work around.

  13. Aen Tan,

    Try upgrading your WordPress to 2.1.3 and try again. There have been some issues in the way WordPress handeld category requests.

  14. Jason,

    Update for you, I went away and tested user registrations and something isn’t working. I’ll debug and fix in the next release – can’t see the reason yet though😦

  15. Downloaded old version Subscribe 2.15 with my wordpress blog 2.0.4. Doesn’t work for me at all. When a person subscribes it directs them to the main index page. I checked the error log and it said no action on line 51 of subscribe2.php. Could you help me out with this one?

  16. I’m having trouble with Subscribe2 since upgrading both WordPress to 2.0.10 and Subscribe2 to 2.2.15. For some reason, with Subscribe2 enabled, the rich text editor will not load. With Subscribe2 disabled, the editor loads fine.

    The load of post.php produces a “tinyMCE is undefined error” and a “syntax error”.

    Does the problem mentioned for the 2.3 version apply to the 2.2.15 version as well?

    Thanks,

    DLH

  17. Thank you, yep, I updated to 2.1.3 as well, and still have the same problem. I have over a dozen registered users, but I only see 7 show up in the Manage>>Subscribers section, filtered under Registered Users. Seems like a strange problem.

    I can deal with it now, I’m just going to send out an e-mail to all my users, and let them know they have to manually go in and subscribe. I’m sure time for you is at a premium, as it is for me, when we had our daughter 10 days ago!

  18. DLH,

    Try disabling the Subscribe2 button on the Write toolbar in options. It may be that the TinyMCE editor has been back ported from 2.1.x to 2.0.10 meaning I’ll be getting the same problems😦

  19. Jason,

    This issue is not re-creatable 100% of the time which makes debugging even more difficult.

    I still think it is to do with the new category functions in WordPress but as the old functions are not there any more I’m stuck with the new ones😦

  20. Disabling the Subscribe2 button fixed the problem. I missed that option before when I was troubleshooting.

    Thanks for the help,

    DLH

  21. Nope it still works the same. I downloaded the Subscribe2 for the wordpress upgrade and it still directs subscribers to the main index page without signing them up.

  22. I’m having the same problem as Tobias where the subscription form won’t display… putting in paragraph codes doesn’t seem to work for me though @_@ alas. I’ve even tried disabling the Rich Text Editor. Am also using Share this…

  23. Gotta love software sometimes… it just started working with <!–subscribe2–> using paragraph codes. Thanks🙂

  24. Samara,

    A few things to check:

    1/ Did you define the S2PAGE variable in the Subscribe2 code
    2/ Have you got a /htaccess file in your root that deals with lots of re-directs

    If we don’t get there we can try hard coding the page into the Subscribe2 code for you.

  25. I did define the page and it still doesn’t work with the page ID #. It works the same if the page is defined or not (redirecting users to the main page w/out signing them up). I do not have an .htaccess file that deals with redirects at all, just custom error pages which aren’t located and has nothing to do with my blog’s directory.

  26. Samara,

    Your home URL contains “www” but all your links to WordPress pages have this missing.

    This could be down to a .htaccess but as you say you don’t have one in Options -> General have you got WordPress address and Blog address set the same?

  27. Hi there, I want to know if it is possible add the subscriber name to the subscribe2 form

  28. Rachel,

    It would be possible but at the moment there wouldn’t be a great deal of benefit and here’s why:

    Emails are sent to users using the Bcc: header in an email and many subscribers are sent identical emails in this way. This is to minimise the number of emails sent to allow the greater majority of users to benefit from this plugin as most users don’t have broad access to email services or to settings on the servers.

    Presumably, collecting the names of public subscribers would be of use for individually addressing emails to people – (like Dear Rachel).

    Of course this won’t work if the emails are sent as described above but the code is free so you can change the mail routine to send single emails and start collecting those names!

  29. Samara,

    I’m happy to take a look behind the scenes to try and find out what’s going on if you want. Make a post back here if you do and I’ll contact you direct for details.

  30. I have tried uploading every version of this and it never even shows up in my plugins directory. Any suggestions? Help!

Comments are closed.