Subscribe2 3.0 for WP 2.1 RC2

Version 3.0 Release Candidate 1 of the Plugin is now available for download for WordPress 2.1 users only!

This is hopefully the final relase candidate before a full release anytime soon! Please test and report issues / bugs below. This version adds another layer to the profile / user subscription self management menus until WordPress finalise a final fix for this menu issue.

Remaining issues, which will be tackled in future releases, are:

  • No Subscribe2 Quicktags in the Rich Text Editor due to a TinyMCE issue with buttonsnap.php
  • WP-Cron is still required for future postings and daily digests despite having been built into the WordPress core (the hooks need clarification and updating)

If you use this plugin make a donation to support future development!

Download Version 3.0, recommended for users of WordPress 2.1.x.

Download from mirror site.

This version, which should be consider as a beta release, has been tested on WordPress 2.1

To install correctly:

  1. Deactivate your exisiting Subscribe2 Plugin
  2. Use FTP software to delete the old plugin and upload the new version
  3. Activate the new version of the plugin

31 thoughts on “Subscribe2 3.0 for WP 2.1 RC2

  1. why am i getting this error when i activate this plugin..
    Fatal error: Call to undefined function: get_categories() in /homepages/40/d188842703/htdocs/wp-content/plugins/subscribe2/subscribe2.php on line 949

  2. Hi there…
    I’ve been hoping with each new release that this will be working with my install of 2.1, but as of yet I’m having no luck with this plugin.
    The plugin isn’t sending any emails — at all. When I post, nothing is sent. I’ve tried just simply mailing the subscribers through the Write menu, but the emails don’t send that way either.
    I’ve got WP-Cron installed, and everything is up-to-date as far as I know.
    Do you have any suggestions?

    Also, this may or may not have been addressed already, but on the subscriptions tab under Users, I’m getting the following error: Catchable fatal error: Object of class stdClass could not be converted to string in /home/lianhua/public_html/wp-content/plugins/subscribe2/subscribe2.php on line 1676

    Any help or insight you can give me will be greatly appreciated; thank you in advance!

  3. Jess,

    Do new users get emails when they register with your blog?
    Are you running any plugins that modify email sending behaviour?
    Have you checked with your host if they are allowing your emails (Bcc: headers included)?
    Have you disabled all other plugins and tested Subscribe2 alone?
    Have you tried re-uploading the plugin and reseting the Subscribe2 options?

  4. This new version seems to work right. Previously I was not even able to send mails to registered subscribers. I just installed and made a quick check – it seems to be able to send mails atleast. I’ll post some entries on my blog later in the day and let you know if the mails are being sent.

    I don’t know whether this is the right place for a feature request but here goes nothing. Maybe in the next final version of subscribe2 you could add a little uninstall function (just for convenience sake) which could remove all the database entries made by the plugin. That would help a noob user, like me, who fears editing the database.

  5. Unfortunately this update did not work me๐Ÿ˜ฆ . I was only able to send mails to registered subscribers manually. But the new post notification feature still did not work for me. I guess I’ll play the waiting game and watch out for the final release.

    I do hope that you include the un-install function in the next release, so that I can safely remove all the pertinent DB entries and do a clean install without manually editing the DB.

  6. An update…
    The error on the User’s Subscriptions management page is still there, as listed above, but my blog is now sending out notification emails. However, it seems to be a little over-eager… It’s sending out emails for static pages as well as normal posts. Is there some way I can tweak this?

  7. Jess,

    At least part of it os now working! I’ve also just found a ticket in the WordPress trac site:

    http://trac.wordpress.org/ticket/3728

    That seems to be confirming my thoughts that there are bugs in the WordPress category functions. I am going to wait for WordPress 2.1.1 before doing any more development on Subscribe2 as I’m beginning to think that many of my issues are coming from the core WordPress files.

  8. Sounds like a plan to me!
    I’ll be checking back, this is the only plugin that has made it to my RSS feeder, haha.

  9. I’m not quite sure where to pose this question, but is there a way I can add post-meta data to the email?

    I have tried a few different hacks of my own and none of them seem to be doing quite what I want them to do.

    My blog is a photo blog and is set up so that the photo tags are stored in custom tags and I use the Get Custom Field Values plugin to grab the data. I can’t get this to show up in an email though.

    Any ideas on this?

  10. MrBobDobolina,

    I don’t make use of the meta tags so I’ve never tried but I guess you’d need to make use of get_post_custom() within th plugin. This will return an array listing all of your meta data, you’ll then need to address the arts of the array you want to display to ensure user readability.

  11. Hi,

    I’ve just upgraded from 2.2.8 to 2.3 RC2 (I’m on WP 2.1) and I have an issue on the “from” field of the confirmation mails (I haven’t tried yet the “publish” mails…) which is empty. Here is the source of the email (see “from: “).
    Therefore, my email client display an error “INVALID_ADDRESS@.SYNTAX-ERROR.”.
    Any idea ?

    Thanks in advance,
    Marc

    [Email header detail removed to stop spam bots!]

  12. Don’t know if it has been requested…๐Ÿ™‚

    Would it be possible to bridge your plugin with the “post levels” plugins in order to send emails only to authorized registered users (users with a level higher than the post’s level) ?

    Regards
    Marc

  13. Marco,

    By default the plugin pulls the admin details from record 1 of the WP-Users table. If thi record is blank, or has been deleted, what your are experiencing will happen.

    Either create a record with an ID of 1 containing the name and email you want the subscriptions to come from or edit the code so that the record used is something other than record 1.

    I’m sure that it would be possible to email based upon post level but I’m snowed under at the moment so I can’t commit to any big developments – if anyone else wants to submit code though…

  14. Waooo, thanks a lot, It works fine ! In order to help people having the same problem as me, you have to search “get_userdata(1);” in subscribe2.php. There are 5 or 6 of them to replace by “get_userdata(n);” where “n” is the ID of the administrator (for me n=2)…

    For the “post level” change request : if I find how to develop it, I’ll suggest the code to you๐Ÿ™‚

    Regards
    Marc

  15. Hi.

    I have just upgraded to 2.3 and have a problem with the subscription confirmation page. WordPress fails to load the confirmation page although the email address is added to the list. I am using wordpress 2.1

    Any idea?

    Thanks.
    Wu

  16. WP2.1
    Subscribe2 3.0rc2
    PHP 5.1.2
    SQL 5.0.24a
    Host: Dreamhost
    S2 Widget Enabled

    Hello again,

    First, from what we can tell, the plugin is working perfectly. With that in mind, thank You.

    After using it, I now have a couple of additional questions and have run into a new issue. Hopefully you can help me resolve it.

    Our mailing list has quickly grown to nearly 600 addresses. We anticipate growing into the thousands in the coming months.

    01. Does Subscribe2 have a limit of the number of subscribers that it can handle?

    Scenario for question 02…. We are hosted by Dreamhost. We recently posted a new item. We received 7 emails from the plugin per your design. Those notification emails flagged my attention to the idea that out of nearly 600 address, we may have only sent maximum of 210 addresses (ie. Dreamhost=True: this sends emails in groups of 30 by design, 7 email notifications to the admin. 30×7=210 total potential email addresses sent.) I thought it odd that we didn’t receive roughly 20 notifications from the plugin by design (600 addresses / 30 emails per group = 20 notification emails). fyi… I had already placed test emails in the list; one that started an ‘A’ and one with an ‘W’ to be sent to our domain. We received the one starting with an ‘A’ but not the one with an ‘W’. Alphabetically the ‘W’ address was toward the end of the list; near 550 of 600.

    I checked the Dreamhost Wiki for info on an email “limit” or “cap”. As of this note, I could not find anything on a limit of 30 from DH as outlined in your FAQ. That doesn’t mean they don’t have a limit of 30; it just means I couldn’t find it. ๐Ÿ˜‰ However, I did find info regarding a “cap per hour” on dream host. (http://wiki.dreamhost.com/index.php/116_Common_Questions) Question 49: “…Websites that send email are limited to 100/hr via SMTP and 200/hr via SSH/SHELL…..”

    Since my assumption (based on the 7 notification emails above) is that we only sent a potential 210 emails, I’m now thinking that we may have only sent 200 max, specifically because of a cap per hour governed by DH. Does this sound logical? So my next major question is…

    02. Is there a way to implement Subscribe2 so that it will send “200” emails every 60 minutes? Or maybe better yet, “200” emails every 65 or 75 minutes, just to make sure that the DH “60 minute cap” doesn’t start counting until the LAST email, in the first batch of 200 is sent?

    Man, I hope that makes sense to you. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Also let me be very clear… I am so at the end of my technical/programming knowledge that I have just entered into being very dangerous. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Thanks again for all of your wisdom,
    Whiplash Records

  17. Whiplash Records,

    Great news that everything is working๐Ÿ˜‰

    1/ Subscribe2 does not have an inbuilt limit for sending emails. The limitations of the hosting server apply (as you’ve found with dreamhost). For a true answer you need to email your host and ask what limits they set.

    2/ There is no way I know of to easily schedule future emails to send 200 per hour. Best bet is to move to a decent host!!

  18. Wu,

    Having tried to subscribe it looks like you may have something in your .htaccess blocking the page loads as I’m getting no feedback and no email.

    Backup then delete your .htaccess and try again.

  19. When I open the .htaccess file (in notepad) this is what it says

    # This folder does not require access over HTTP
    Order deny,allow
    Deny from all
    Allow from none

    Is this all the .htaccess file is supposed to be or am I missing something?

    When I deleted the file & subscribed, I found that again, there was no return page.

  20. It’d be nice if the “30” value (people per e-mail) was easily configurable. When I make a new post and hit “Publish”, it just sits there loading for infinite time. The post appears on my site, but the admin area never changes pages and says it’s posted.

    I’m hoping it’s just because this server’s mailserver is being freaked out by the couple thousand subscribers I have, but I can’t be sure.

    But regardless, being able to set it to like 250 would be nice,

  21. Wu,

    Your .htaccess file is okay like that (I think) – the issue may be something to do with your WordPress theme as when I try to subscribe the footer.php page is not successfully running (or it doesn’t appear to be when viewing the source of your page. Since Subscribe2 executes after the page loads it woun’t do anything if your page is not loading!

  22. Viper007Bond,

    I’ve been thinking about changing this for a while. The code specifies DreamHost but applies to so many other hosts that it seems almost unfair to single dreamhost out!

    I’ll make changes for the next release! Check out the SVN if you want to test the changes before the release.

  23. Gahhhhh! I’ve spent several hours trying to work out why “Automatically subscribe new users registering with your blog” wouldn’t work. I’ve narrowed it down to ‘s2_autosub’ being used where ‘autosub’ is used elsewhere in subscribe2.php and by include.php…

    So I do a find and replace, it fixes five instances and suddenly new users are automatically subscribed…

  24. This is a great plugin extremely useful. However, I’m just wondering is there any reason I am unaware of that the buttonsmap.php file is not inside with the other files.
    When I first uploaded this plugin and activated I got an error because it was looking for this file inside the folder and it wasn’t.

    But after reading the instructions a few times and focused I realized what the error was telling me.

    Just thought I’d like you know because it would be a terrible things for someone without experience to do that same thing and just delete the plugin and move on to the next availble plugin.

  25. Lovely D,

    The buttonsnap.php file is located in plugins so that one file can be shared among several plugins rather than having several copies in each of the plugin folders you upload.

    I had hoped it was simpler this way but maybe not… let me know if you think buttonsnap really should be in with the other files.

Comments are closed.