Subscribe2 3.0 for WP 2.1

Version 3.0 of the Plugin is now available for download for WordPress 2.1 users only!

If you use this plugin make a donation to support future development!

This update allows WordPress 2.1 users to continue using Subscribe2. It has the following known issues:

  • Buttonsnap does not work well with WP2.1 so there are no admin buttons
  • WP-Cron is still required for future postings and daily digests despite having been built into the WordPress core (the hooks need clarification and updating)

Download Version 3.0, recommended for users of WordPress 2.1.x.

This version, which should be consider as a beta release, has been tested on WordPress 2.1

To install correctly:

  1. Deactivate your exisiting Subscribe2 Plugin
  2. Use FTP software to delete the old plugin and upload the new version
  3. Activate the new version of the plugin

31 thoughts on “Subscribe2 3.0 for WP 2.1

  1. Hi there,

    The first line of this article says that version 3.0 is only for wordpress 2.1 only but then in the middle of the article is says recommended for users of wordpress 2.0.x.

    Which one is it?

    i am using wordpress v2.0.4 and this is the error i get when activating the plugin. Website wont even load as this error shows up. Have to rename the subscribe file to something else to be able to get back into the admin panel. So i am guessing this version only works with 2.1 I havent tested it on versions above v2.0.4 as i havent upgraded to any newer version.
    Fatal error: Call to undefined function get_categories() in subscribe2.php on line 942

    i wont be upgrading to wordpress 2.1 anytime soon as that has been a lot of info going around with regards to a lot of issues with 2.1 so will wait for 2.1.1.

    thanks you so much for such a fantastic plugin. Keep up the great work.

    Cheers,

    Josip

  2. In “Manage Subscribers” I get this error under the “Categories” heading:

    Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /home/[path stuff continued]/html/wp-content/plugins/subscribe2/subscribe2.php on line 1617

    I’m using WP 2.1

  3. I’m getting two fatal errors on Subscribe2 2.3.0 running WP 2.1. On the Manage Subscripbers page I get

    Fatal error: Cannot access empty property in /var/[pathtoroot]/wp-content/plugins/subscribe2/subscribe2.php on line 3341

    When I test the inserted code to allow users to subscribe I get to the WP users admin page with this error:

    Fatal error: Cannot redeclare s2init() (previously declared in /var/www/[pathtoroot]/wp-content/plugins/subscribe2/subscribe2.php:127) in /var/www/[pathtoroot]/wp-content/plugins/subscribe2/subscribe2.php on line 133

  4. Hi, great plugin. Has been working a treat on earlier WP versions.

    Upgraded to 2.1 (for those worried about waiting, it’s been pretty seemless for me and I upgraded from 2.0.4 – touch wood!) So, subscribe2 is working great but in sidebar widget, and on the “Subscribe” page I created, when a subscriber wants to modify their profile (You may manage your subscription options from your profile) the WP logo comes up saying “Cannot load subscribe2/subscribe2.php.”

    I tried checking the profile link in the subscribe2.php file but I can’t figure it out in the code. And the widget has the same copy as the page. Sorry if its a no-brainer… any leads would be appreciated. I have totally modified the WP admin area with new CSS to match my site so could that be it?

    Thanks in advance…

  5. Hi there – I upgraded to 2.3 and am having a similar problem to Peng. When I go to manage subscibers, I get:

    Fatal error: Cannot access empty property in /home/kudelka/public_html/wp-content/plugins/subscribe2/subscribe2.php on line 1671

    Had no problems before – any ideas most welcome.

    regards,

    Jon Kudelka

  6. Hi Matthew,

    I did upgrade wordpress from 2.04 to 2.07 and was getting the same error. So i assumed that it was only compatible with version 2.1

    Its cool, but do you think you will make subscribe2 compatible with wordpress 2.0.x series?

    Keep up the great work.

    cheers,

    Josip

  7. The plugin worked great till I had WP 2.05 installed. Then I updated the plugin to the latest version i.e. v3 and my WP installation to 2.1… but now I do not get email notifications of new posts, nor do my subscribers. Could you guide me? I double checked all the options but everything is the was it was before.

  8. Peng / Tanya
    I think the issues is being caused by line 109, it starts:

    $this->use_profile

    On this line you need to change:

    /wp-admin/profile.php

    to:

    /wp-admin/users.php

  9. Tim / Peng / Jon,

    I think your issues with empty properties may relate to having no categories with any posts in although I can’t be sure as I am unable to reproduce your errors.

    Try adding the following at line 1602 in the display_category_form function, after the line start $all_cats.

    if ($all_cats = ”) { return; }

  10. Hi, thanks for looking into it. I tried adding the line but still get “Fatal error: Cannot access empty property in /home/kudelka/public_html/wp-content/plugins/subscribe2/subscribe2.php on line 1672”

    The start of the display_category_form function now looks like this? Have I done it right?

    Jon

    /* ===== helper functions: forms and stuff ===== */
    /**
    Display a table of categories with checkboxes
    Optionally pre-select those categories specified
    */
    function display_category_form($selected = array(), $override = 1) {
    global $wpdb;

    $all_cats = get_categories(‘type=post&hide_empty=1&hierarchical=0’);
    if ($all_cats = ”) { return; }
    if (0 == $override) {
    // registered users are not allowed to subscribe to
    // excluded categories
    foreach (explode(‘,’, $this->get_excluded_cats()) as $cat) {
    $category = get_category($cat);
    $excluded[$cat] = $category->cat_name;
    }
    $all_cats = array_diff($all_cats, $excluded);
    }

  11. Hi thanks for the help, but it’s still coming up with the same error. I managed to write down the link it’s calling from the ‘profile’ link in the widget if that helps? It’s ofthestars.com/otswordpress/wp-admin/profile.php?page=subscribe2/subscribe2.php

    Hope that reads…

  12. Jon,

    I have managed to duplicate the issue and it’s going to take a bit of figuring out. That function (display_category_form) is called from several places but for some reason (currently unknown) it isn’t working the same when called from different places!!

    I’m working on it but you’ll have to be patient.

  13. Tanya,

    Your link is still pointing to profile.php when it should be users.php in WordPress 2.1 – have you made the edit I suggested? It doesn’t appear to have stuck!

  14. Yes, I did make the suggestion and it didn’t work so I changed it back so I knew where I was. I reinstalled everything so will try again.

    Thanks🙂

  15. UPDATE

    I am encountering some very strange issues with WP2.1 that I am struggling to fix. I have code working perfectly on a localhost sandbox version of WP2.1 but I cannot get it working on a hosted site I use for testing.

    I am beginning to think it may be a caching issue in the WordPress core judging by some very unusual data I get in from the same function in different windows!

    I’ll keep checking and may have to submit a bug ticket with the folks at WordPress.

  16. is WP cron needed for this to work correctly? As I already mentioned, I get random notifications of new entries on my blog. Sometimes there are no notification emails. I do not understand what is wrong. Other notifications from my blog like new user registrations, daily domain backups, etc are working perfectly.

    I’m using WP 2.1 and subscribe2 v3

  17. Vishwas,

    As stated above you need WP-Cron for future post and daily digest functionality but note that this plugin should be considered as a beta software release. It WILL contain bugs and it probably WON’T work as expected.

  18. ok… I figured out how to reproduce the bug (or it seems so to me). Every time I make a blog entry in a single category, I receive the email notification. But posts which are marked as belonging to more than one category are not notified. I’ll again try to reproduce this error tomorrow after WP-cron is enabled (it is strange as the plugin was working fine without cron enabled in WP 2.05).

  19. Vishwas,

    I have a test version of WordPress 2.1 that I’m using to iron out issues. I’ve just made a post into 2 categories and the email arrived to my 4 test subscriber emails as expected.

    Are you on the latest verion of the beta. I have had to re-work a lot of the queries related to categories but the changes are in this new version.

  20. Hi again,

    Sorry to hear you’re having bug problems… I hope this doesn’t add to it. I’ve just noticed that the fix you gave me for subscribe2.php (user.php rather than profile.php) is functioning normally when I’m logged in as admin. But as a test user, a fatal error came up:

    Fatal error: Cannot redeclare s2init() (previously declared in …/wp-content/plugins/subscribe2/subscribe2.php:64) in …/wp-content/plugins/subscribe2/subscribe2.php on line 63

    Is it the same line?

  21. Tanya,

    This is a known issue under 2.1 as the WordPress core menus have changed. I’ve asked about this on the hackers list and had no response so I’ve filed a bug report. Again no response as yet.

    Basically, there is a Users menu under Admin and a Profile menu for other users – under 2.0.x they used to be the same. If you hook into both at the same time it makes a right mess of things with blank screens, 2 menus and redeclare issues!😦

  22. Sorry to hear that, Matthew – thanks for letting us know. I will change mine back for users to access as I can go to my profile anytime via the admin dashboard etc. Not a huge problem really. Hope you hear back from WP soon.

  23. Hey Matthew,

    Happy to be patient, you’re doing this for free! If you sort it out, it would be much appreciated.

    Jon

  24. Hi there,
    Great plugin…I posted in another part of the forum but not sure if it got spam blocked. Any resolution for Tanya’s issue? I’m using WP 2.2 and plugin 3.5

    Thanks!

  25. Eric,

    Sorry, your original post was tagged as SPAM by Akismet😦

    The link that is placed into the form when you are logged in depends on your user rights, if you are an admin level user you should see the a link via users.php otherwise it’s via profile.php.

    I’m not sure if anything has changed between WordPress 2.1 and 2.2 in this area. What links are you seeing from the form on the non-admin side of your site?

  26. Matthew,
    The problem seems to be that for subscribers (non-admin) it tries to go into the users.php, instead of the profile.php. Which is why when you click the Profile tab and come back to the subscriptions tab it then works fine. If I make a subscriber an admin, I don’t get the error since admins have rights to user.php section.

    Thanks again,

    Eric

  27. Eric,

    I’ve reviewed the code and tested a new user as both Editor and Subscriber roles. The link created for me for both of these roles is to the profile.php page and works fine. My log in with an administrator role links to user.php correctly too.

    Are you using any other plugins that link in with user roles and capabilities? Also, have you tried clearing your browser cache?

Comments are closed.