Subscribe2 3.0 for WP 2.1.1 RC1

Version 3.0 Release Candidate 1 of the Plugin is now available for download for WordPress 2.1.1 users only!

The release of WordPress 2.1.1 fixed some issues the way category results were processed fixing many of the issues I was having with the plugin and WordPress 2.1. This is hopefully the final release candidate! Please test and report issues / bugs below.

Remaining issues, which will be tackled in future releases, are:

  • No Subscribe2 Quicktag in the Rich Text Editor due to a TinyMCE issue with buttonsnap.php
  • WP-Cron is still required for future postings and daily digests despite having been built into the WordPress core (the hooks need clarification and updating)

If you use this plugin make a donation to support future development!

Download Version 3.0, recommended for users of WordPress 2.1.1 and above.

Download from mirror site.

This version, which should be consider as a beta release, has been tested on WordPress 2.1.1.

To install correctly:

  1. Deactivate your exisiting Subscribe2 Plugin
  2. Use FTP software to delete the old plugin and upload the new version
  3. Activate the new version of the plugin
68 thoughts on “Subscribe2 3.0 for WP 2.1.1 RC1

  1. Should this plugin work when you run wp-mail.php ??

    I set up a cron:

    php -f wp-mail.php

    it imports and posts, but the it doesn’t send out the newsletter

  2. Having reviewed the code in wp-mail.php it does not link into the usual WordPress core APIs. So, basically No it won’t work.

    It looks like wp-mail.php calls a hook called publish_phone rather than publish_post.

    I don’t know if this will work (it may even break WordPress) but if you want to try it…

    Add in the following code into the subscribe2() function at the end of the code (you should see a lot of other add_action statements) and take care to not use the smart quotes that this site uses!:

    add_action(‘publish_phone’, array(&$this, ‘publish’));

  3. Hi,

    I’ve just found that auto subscribe doesn’t seem to work on WP 2.1 and Subscribe2 3.0 for WP 2.1 RC2. I’ve seen that 2.14 for WP 2.0.x fixes a similar issue. Can I use it on WP 2.1 ?

    Thanx

  4. Marco,

    This issue should be fixed in this release (Subscribe2 3.0 for WP 2.1.1 RC1), please test and let me know if this is not the case.

    Don’t use 2.2.14 of my plugin on WordPress 2.1.x – it will not work well at all.

  5. Marc,

    This will work on WP2.1 but I’d strongly advise you to upgrade to WP2.1.1 for several reasons:
    1/ There is a big security hole in 2.1 that is fixed in 2.1.1
    2/ There is a bug fix in the core category functions that allows my plugin to work as expected – without this fix I was getting lots of issues in 2.1 (but it will work to a degree)

  6. Hi guys,
    For those of you who ONLY have the ‘general public’ as subscribers and want HTML posts to reach them, i have a coding solution. Its simple but you have to do some scrolling.

    Around line 501 in the subscribe2.php file (find it in the plugins-subscribe2 folder) you will see this:

    Line 501 $this->mail($recipients, $subject, $body, 'html');

    Before this line add:

    $body = str_replace("\r\n", "\r\n", $mailtext);
    $body = str_replace('POST', $content, $body);

    It should thus read:

    $body = str_replace("\r\n", "\r\n", $mailtext);
    $body = str_replace('POST', $content, $body);
    $this->mail($recipients, $subject, $body, 'html');

    Don’t be afraid to make some return spaces before the line 501 to make some space.
    This will ensure that the general public gets full html messages.
    Yours sincerely, Visti.

  7. On the manage page I get the following error. What is that all about.
    Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /home/content/e/x/t/extras/html/wp-content/plugins/subscribe2/subscribe2.php on line 1686

  8. Connie,

    It’s all about on of those bugs in the WordPress category functions that I hope have been fixed in WordPress 2.1.1.

    As it looks like you are still on 2.1 I’m not surprised you are still getting the error – get upgrading :-)

  9. When the subscriber receives the confirmation email with the long-coded link (like: ?s2=), the link goes to a page which in addition to the message that the user are subscribed/unsubscrided, also show all the latest posts on the site. Is there a way to let the link *only* show the confirmation message (post)?

  10. Does anyone have a live demo / screenshots and more information about the Subscribe2 plugin in general?

  11. @Visti Larsen:
    Thanks for the code, I’ve tried this using the latest plugin version on WP 2.1.1 but it still sends out plain text mails. Been trying this before but my php-knowledge is near-zero. Any ideas?
    An option in the plugin to turn full html on or off for unsubscribed users would be awesome..

  12. Ok, trial and error and looking at the code better:
    To send html versions to all subscribers, even non-registered:

    change line 497:

    $this->mail($recipients, $subject, $body);

    to:

    $body = str_replace(“\r\n”, “\r\n”, $mailtext);
    $body = str_replace(‘POST’, $content, $body);
    $this->mail($recipients, $subject, $body, ‘html’);

    MIND THE ADDED , ‘html’ TO THE LAST STRING!

    A big thank you to Visti Larsen!

  13. Hi,
    We are running WP 2.1.1 and Subscribe2 3.0. The plug-in is getting better all the time. Good work! But we noticed something that looks like a bug:

    After publishing a ‘Page’ an email notification went out to everyone of the Public Subscribers. This was after publishing a ‘Page’ not after publishing a ‘Post’.

    I don’t think emails should be going out when Pages are published. Notification is mostly for only Posts, no? If this is a new feature, then there should definitely be a way to disable this in the Options page. But it’s not there. Am I missing how to shut this off?

    Thanks,
    Ryan

  14. hi there,

    i am super new to wordpress so please forgive me if i am asking questions that you have covered.

    i have installed wordpress on a client site. the site is being served at godaddy. i think the version is 2.0.5. the blog is up and running but i am having a heck of a time with the subscribe2 plug-in and widget.

    i finally figured out that the plug-in needs wp-cron, i think, today even though that was not mentioned in the install instructions. again i am super new to this program. so i installed that. i hope that fixes the main problem which is that no emails are going out.

    i also am trying to figure out if there is a database of the subscribers. i would like to view the attributes for them to make sure that i have set it up correctly.

    feedback and assitance are greatly appreicated!!!

  15. one more thing…

    i did not set up a page to be associated with subscribe2 as i am using the widget. was that the correct thing to do?

  16. Hi there,

    I’ve installed the newest subscribe2 update to 2.3.0 and I’m running wordpress 2.1.1. When I add the subscribe2 token in its page so that my multitudes may follow me, I don’t get a thing. Nothing except the token’s text where there should be a form.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks,

    Phil

  17. I’ve placed the token both in the code and the visual editor. The same thing happens… just text.

    Phil

  18. Is there a way to make my Subscribe2 email subscriber count be reflected in my Feedburner count? I really like Subscribe2 better than the email subscription services Feedburner or Feedblitz provide, but I’d like to put my Feedburner subscriber count on my site. Right now that only accounts for my RSS readers, about half of my subscribers.

  19. Ryan,

    I think pages and posts must both go through the same function that I’ve hooked subscribe2 into under WordPress 2.1.

    When I get some more time I’ll do some checking and see if this is correct and if there is a way around it.

  20. Tim,

    FeedBurner is entrely separate from Subscribe2 so there is no way to merge the two. If you subscribe each of your subscribe2 users using FeedBlitz etc they’ll all get 2 emails.

  21. emails still not going out when people fill out the subscribe2 info. emails do go out from wordpress itself.

    please help… i dying here.

  22. sorry i guess i should be more clear… the subscriber fills in the info. the screen changes to say that a cofirmation email will be arriving soon. that never happens. if you go to the write email message and send from there, emails do send.

  23. Just wanted to say that I figured it out with a little more looking through of your pages. It works great, once again! Thank you so much.

    The problem was that I was typing <stripped by WordPress.com>, when it should be <!–subscribe2–>. Woops!

    Thanks,

    Phil

  24. i changed the name of the folder that wordpress is in. in the install instructions for wordpress, that was discussed and is not a problem. could this be the problem for the plug-in?

    help… please

  25. Paisleydi,

    One of the things that may be stopping this working is your admin entry in WordPress.

    Look under Users -> Author and Users and check you have a record with ID number 1.

    If not either create a record here or search the subscribe2 code for all instances of get_userdata(1); and replace the “1″ with a number of your admin users.

  26. that was it!!!

    thank you
    thank you
    thank you
    thank you

    perhaps that tip should be in the install instructions along with the wp-cron being required?

  27. Paisleydi,

    Sorry it took so long to help you figure that out – not getting much computer time at the moment with my new son – and to be honest I don’t really care – I’d much rather be with him right now :-) (Proud Dad Syndrome maybe!)

  28. Pingback: Geekblog » Subscriber 3

  29. Barry: If you’re still reading this thread, can I ask about yr html hack. In order to create the html version do you add an html coded message to the e mail template? Could you for example paste YOUR template into this thread so I can see how you’ve done it.

    And perhaps if you wouldn’t mind if you could send me an e mail via my website maybe I could e mail you directly w. questions.

  30. I’m using the newest version of Subscribe2 on a wordpress site running WP 2.1.2.

    I’m using Dreamhost for my hosting.

    No emails are being sent out whatsoever. No confirmation email is sent, and even if I manually confirm the users through the WP interface, they do not receive an email when a new post is created. No emails are going through. I’ve read through the comments in the trouble shooting pages and I have yet to find a solution.

    Has anyone else had a problem with using Subscribe2 on Dreamhost? Is it the specific version of the plugin I am using or something else?

    I hope I can figure this out, because I really don’t want to use FeedBlitz but I don’t see any other plugins for WP that will get the job done if I can’t figure out this issue with Subscribe2.

  31. Dr J,

    There are long standing issues with DreamHost and outgoing emails. One of the settings in the code is directly related to a limitation applied to the number f recipients for each email imposed by DreamHost (Formerly DREAMHOST as TRUE or FALSE but now BCCLIMIT which should be set to 50 on DreamHost)

    Anyway, back to your problem. If there are no emails being sent by the plugin at all you need to raise this with DreamHost and ask why they are being blocked. The plugin works fine on other sites and with other hosts so DreamHost must be your first port of call.

    If they point you in the right direction but you need more help with the plugin side come back to me.

  32. Hi all!

    I love the plug-in, I’m finally getting it to work as intended, but i’ve run into a problem. When a usesr clicks on the “subscription” tab in their account, it loads up the first half of the page, and then displays this error under the “Subscribed Categories” heading.

    Catchable fatal error: Object of class stdClass could not be converted to string in /home/landofch/public_html/pictures/wp-content/plugins/subscribe2/subscribe2.php on line 1678

    For now I just have that line commented out. I don’t know what that will do to the overall function of the plug-in, but the error goes away…

    Any ideas? I’m using WP 2.1.2 and the newest download of Subscribe2

  33. MrBobDobolina,

    Strange that this one has come back if you are on WordPress 2.1.2 as I thought it had been fixed in the core files.

    Make sure you are using Subscribe2 version 2.3.0 rather than 2.2.14.

    Also, does this error also occur on the Option and Manage pages as they are using the same function to display the categories as the User page.

  34. The plugin page says version 2.3.0 for WP 2.1, so I’m pretty sure I have the right version. I tried it with a clean download, and that didn’t seem to make a difference.

    Oddly enough, the error does not occur on either the Option page or the Manage page.

  35. MrBobDobolina,

    The only thing I can think to suggest is to delete and then re-upload the core WordPress files. It is sometimes possible that FTP software doesn’t overwrite these files correctly and misses a few important changes.

  36. Okay, here’s one for ya…

    I did a reinstall of almost all the WP files as well as the Subwcribe2 files and it didn’t fix a thing. Took the plugin and installed it on a different blog and it worked fine.

    I did notice somthing though. On the blog where I’m having trouble, if I click on “Users” I only have one tab that reads “Subscriptions”. (Rather then two like there were on the working blog.)

    If I click on this one link, it takes me to “Manage” > “Subscriptions” and gives me the error.

    If I just go to “Manage” > “Subscriptions” it doesn’t give me an error.

    I think that mayhaps a complete re-install of my entire setup might be in order to solve this one.

  37. MrBobDobolina,

    I’ve had issues like this where I can’t reproduce an error on another blog.

    The only thing to do is keep plugging away changing things and deleting then re-uploading files until your site starts behaving itself :-(

  38. Well, I found the problem.

    I was looking over the code around line 1678 -ish to see what was actually happening, and it’s right next to the if statment checking to see which categories were excluded.

    It then occured to me, that in the preferences I had unchecked the box allowing for users to exclude certian categories. I went to preferences, and checked the box, now everything seems to be working swimingly.

    So there is some issue with not allowing users to exculude categories. I tried unchecking the box on my other blog, and I started having the same problem.

    So my issue has been fixed, and maybe I have given you a bit of a clue about what actually was going on.

    Thank you much!

  39. MrBobDobolina,

    THanks for the update and further comments – I think you may well have found me a bug!

    I’ll do some checking and see if I can fix this up for everyone. Thanks for the report.

  40. I’have WordPress 2.1.2 and when active subscribe2, i’have this error:

    Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 8388608 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 233472 bytes) in /home/web/www.violetcherry.it/website/blog/wp-admin/upgrade-schema.php on line 101

    Can you help me ?

  41. Daniele,

    upgrade-schema.php is a core file of WordPress and nothing to do with Subscribe2. I therefore think your upgrade from WordPress 2.1.1 to 2.1.2 may be incomplete.

    Have a look at this post in the WordPress forum, it may help you.

  42. I am a teacher and I use WordPress for my class website and I am trying to get an email sent to my students when I write a new post. I uploaded the plugin and put in another personal email and posted a test post and it worked with one subscriber. However, when I uploaded all 110 of my students it stopped sending the email. This has to with the email server not allowing this many addresses in a single email. This was addressed before but I couldn’t find it. Thanks for your help.

  43. Brian,

    You are quite right, this used to be a true or false variable called DreamHost but more recently I’ve added more flexibility and changed the name from DreamHost as it applies to many more hosts.

    Look for BCCLIMIT in the code near the top, set this to the number of Bcc: recipients you want for each out going email and save it. Emails will then be restricted to that number of Bcc: recipients with the appropriate number of out going emails sent to cover all of your subscribers.

  44. I seem to be having a little problem with the version 2.3 (also had this problem with the previous version of Subscribe2). Everything works fine except the emails that go out are missing the “To” and “From” email headers. They also are missing the name that goes after the line “Best regards,” in the body of the email. I’ve done some searching both here and at the WordPress support forums and I can’t seem to find anything on this problem. I think I’m missing a variable somewhere or have one set wrong. Please excuse me if this problem has been covered before, I’m a newbie at this.

    Thanks for a great plugin!
    Chris Bower

  45. Chris,

    Subscribe2 sends emails from your WordPress user with the ID of 1. If you have no user with this ID (maybe you deleted it for security reasons) then the headers will be blank as you are experiencing.

    Either re-create a record with the ID of 1 or edit the Subscribe2 code as follows:

    Find all instances of the following and edit the number to a record in your database that you want the emails to come from:

    get_userdata(1);

  46. Well, I feel completely stupid now…hehehe. Of course, your fix was right on the money. I had deleted user #1 a long time ago. All I had to do was a search and replace in the Subscribe2 PHP file and replace get_userdata (1) with my current admin user number. The reason I feel kinda stupid is I read about how it gets the first record from the database, but I didn’t understand what it used this data for! I need to read closer when I read help and forum files. Thanks much!
    Chris Bower

  47. Suleiman,

    WordPress Mu is just a multiuser wrapper for WordPress 2.1 – or so I am led to believe by what I read. So, there is no reason that it shouldn’t work and I’m certainly aware of it’s use on WpMu in at least one case.

  48. Hi Matthew, thanks for the plugin. I’d really like to get it working. I’m using WP v2.1.2
    with Subscribe2 3.0. Only 1 plugin activated and that is Subscribe 2.3.0 for WP2.1. When I click on the Options/Subscribe2 link after activating the plugin, everything below the menu is blank. I can’t see an options page. I checked and all the other Subscribe2 links don’t work either. So, I noticed that every link that is added after the plugin is activated shows a link thus: (?page=subscribe2\subscribe2.php) I noticed that the “\” slash seems incorrect. Now, when I go to plugins and click the edit link for Subscribe2 I notice that the backslash is a forward slash thus: (?file=subscribe2/subscribe2.php) and the editor will load the file. I searched all the code to see if anything was obvious but since I’m not a developer I found nothing that stood out. So I am wondering why all the menu links are displaying a backslash instead of a forward slash, which, as far as I can tell, is my problem. I hope this makes sense and I hope you can help. Any ideas or suggestions are appreciated.
    Thanks so much.
    Herb
    PS: Congratulations on your new son. What a blessing. :O)

  49. Herb,

    You are right about the “\” being the wrong way around, it should be a “/” – tha same as for all URL locations!

    Look in the code for a function called admin_head, in this function you’ll find 4 or 5 lines of code all containing __FILE__.

    Replace each instance with ‘subscribe2/subscribe2.php’ (including the straight apostrophes) and try again.

    I think this may be being caused by hosting on Windows. When the path to the FILE is captured for the script by the web software it is using the slash generated by Windows which is a “\” rather than a “/”.

  50. Hi again Matthew. Thanks for all your assistance. Your suggestion did indeed fix the “slash” issue, however, I am still looking at a blank page beneath the menu under Manage Subscribers. I did notice that whatever link I clicked related to subscribe2 I am always taken to the Manage Subscribers screen. Possibly this is correct but thought I would mention it. I triple checked my changes, and also deleted the db table subscribe2 and found that the script is talking to the MySQL db. I just don’t get a screen to do anything with. I am on WinXP SP2 using a KeyFocus Webserver, MySQL 4.1. I really don’t expect you to spend much effort on this, I was just hopeful it would work. I could try changing webservers yet not sure that is where the problem is, but willing to look at anything. Anyway, any thought are appreciated. At your convenience. As always, thanks for everything.
    Herb

  51. Hi Matthew.. I just grabbed 2.2.15 and still the same issue. I made the identical changes verifying the slash issue is corrected and removed any rewrites in my webserver and to no avail. Thought you should know. Again, any thoughts are appreciated. Thank you again for everything.
    Herb

  52. Matthew.. I found that the problem has to do with my webserver. I tested on Apache and all is working fine.. So I apologize for not testing that end of it first. Thanks for everything and thank you again!! Herb

  53. Herb,

    I was going to suggest that you try using WAMP as your web serving solution but it looks like you’ve made it that far by yourself.

    Good luck sorting out your configuration.

  54. Hi Matthew,
    Congrats on Max! I think it’s fantastic that you’ve prioritized being a Dad, but also found time to share with the WP community.

    I’m having a terrible time getting the form to show up on my site. I have subscribe2 3.0 (though the download is labeled 2.3), wp-cron 1.4, and WP 2.1.2. I’ve entered my page ID in S2PAGE in subscribe2.php… and run through the process again and again. There doesn’t seem to be anything out of the ordinary about my theme, other plugins, server config (fairly standard TextDrive-hosted Apache on FreeBSD). My form should be showing up here:

    http://disappearingmoment.com/email-subscriptions/

    Thanks,
    Brett

  55. Brett,

    Thanks for following up – it goes to prove that this site is starting to work in providing solutions to problems that save me time :-)

    Glad it’s working for you!

  56. hey there,

    i was able to fix my issue by changing the id for the admin as you suggested in this thread on march 7th. all has been well since then.

    now i am having another issue. i do not know if it was happening before i changed the admin id or not as i do not post to the blog.

    my client has been getting the following errors after he posts:
    WordPress database error: [Lost connection to MySQL server during query]
    INSERT INTO wp_postmeta (post_id,meta_key,meta_value) VALUES (’53′,’_pingme’,’1′)

    WordPress database error: [MySQL server has gone away]
    INSERT INTO wp_postmeta (post_id,meta_key,meta_value) VALUES (’53′,’_encloseme’,’1′)

    WordPress database error: [MySQL server has gone away]
    SELECT ID FROM wp_posts WHERE TRIM(to_ping) != ” LIMIT 1

    WordPress database error: [MySQL server has gone away]
    SELECT post_id FROM wp_postmeta WHERE meta_key = ‘_pingme’ OR meta_key = ‘_encloseme’ LIMIT 1

    WordPress database error: [MySQL server has gone away]
    SELECT * FROM wp_posts WHERE ID = ’53′ LIMIT 1

    Warning: Cannot modify header information – headers already sent by (output started at /home/content/blog/wp-includes/wp-db.php:104) in /home/content/blog/wp-includes/pluggable-functions.php on line 269

    i posted this on the wordpress forum about two weeks ago and no one has had any suggestion. you were so helpful before so i thought i would just run it past you.

    thank you!

  57. oh… i meant to ask this, too. is it possible or do you plan on adding subscriber notification preferences to the plugin? some people would like to receive a weekly summary rather than every time something is posted.

    thanks!

  58. Paisleydi,

    The errors you posted look like you site is loosing the connection to your database. This is not directly related to WordPress or the plugins. Has your host been having problems?

    About the weekly posts, I have made provision for digest posts but it is an either / or situation and would require a total re-write to enable per-user choices.

    This is possible but not something I currently have the time to even start considering. If someone else wnats to have a go using this code as a start that would be fine by me :-)

Comments are closed.